Accéder au contenu principal
MET-GK-Hero
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Un pendentif en or représentant un personnage aux traits d'humain et de jaguar
provenant de la région de Tolima, en Colombie (1 av. J.-C.-700 ap. J.-C.).
Bogota, Musée de l'or, Banque de la République

MET-GK-Header-Text

Royaumes dorés

Le luxe et l'héritage de l'Amérique antique

Royaumes dorés

Le luxe et l'héritage de l'Amérique antique

MET-GK-Copy-01-Quote

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

THE NEW YORK TIMES

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

THE NEW YORK TIMES

MET-GK-NEW-IMAGE-01
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Avec sa turquoise et ses autres matières précieuses incrustées, ce bijou d'oreille Moche
(400-700 ap. J.-C.) offre une représentation détaillée d'un coureur ailé.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Avec sa turquoise et ses autres matières précieuses incrustées, ce bijou d'oreille Moche
(400-700 ap. J.-C.) offre une représentation détaillée d'un coureur ailé.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

MET-GK-Image-01

Continuer dans la tradition classique

Dans l'Amérique antique, les matériaux pour les bijoux de luxe devaient provoquer une réaction intense, sensuelle et conceptuelle, afin d'emmener ceux qui les portaient et les observaient vers d'autres dimensions. « En tant que créateur et artiste, cela me parle à un niveau personnel, explique David Yurman. Le Met était mon temple quand j'avais la vingtaine et que je sortais avec Sybil, mon épouse. Elle étudiait au Hunter College et je la conduisais de Putnam Valley, où nous habitions, jusqu'en ville, puis j'allais au musée pour découvrir la bijouterie. C'était mes bases. »
 

C'est de la fascination de David pour la bijouterie antique qu'est ensuite venue l'envie de transformer les formes historiques en créations contemporaines, une idée concrétisée par le premier bracelet Cable et qui se poursuit à ce jour. Le rôle fondamental qu'à joué le Met pour David et Sybil, ainsi que pour Golden Kingdoms, l'exploration révolutionnaire du luxe, des arts visuels et des femmes de pouvoir, les a inspiré à parrainer l'exposition de l'institution new-yorkaise.

Continuer dans la tradition classique

Dans l'Amérique antique, les matériaux pour les bijoux de luxe devaient provoquer une réaction intense, sensuelle et conceptuelle, afin d'emmener ceux qui les portaient et les observaient vers d'autres dimensions. « En tant que créateur et artiste, cela me parle à un niveau personnel, explique David Yurman. Le Met était mon temple quand j'avais la vingtaine et que je sortais avec Sybil, mon épouse. Elle étudiait au Hunter College et je la conduisais de Putnam Valley, où nous habitions, jusqu'en ville, puis j'allais au musée pour découvrir la bijouterie. C'était mes bases. »

C'est de la fascination de David pour la bijouterie antique qu'est ensuite venue l'envie de transformer les formes historiques en créations contemporaines, une idée concrétisée par le premier bracelet Cable et qui se poursuit à ce jour. Le rôle fondamental qu'à joué le Met pour David et Sybil, ainsi que pour Golden Kingdoms, l'exploration révolutionnaire du luxe, des arts visuels et des femmes de pouvoir, les a inspiré à parrainer l'exposition de l'institution new-yorkaise.

MET-GK-Image-02
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Rare exemple d'orfèvrerie aztèque, ce labret en serpent
(1300-1521 ap. J.-C.) ou pendentif à lèvre a été moulé avec une langue mobile
to symbolize the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

 A rare example of Aztec gold-working, this
serpent labret (AD 1300–1521) or lip pendant
was cast with a movable tongue to symbolize
the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

MET-GK-Copy-02

The Golden Road

Couvrant 2 600 ans et 2 600 miles, cette exposition au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York suit le parcours de l'or dans l'art, des terres des Incas à celles des Aztèques. Avec plus de 300 œuvres, dont des pièces récemment découvertes et des chefs-d'œuvre qui n'ont jamais quitté leur pays d'origine auparavant, Golden Kingdoms est une célébration épatante de l'art pré-colombien. Pourtant, l'événement représente bien plus que de simples reliques antiques. Il explore le concept universel qui consiste à capturer nos croyances sous forme physique au sein d'un monde éphémère.

The Golden Road

Couvrant 2 600 ans et 2 600 miles, cette exposition au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York suit le parcours de l'or dans l'art, des terres des Incas à celles des Aztèques. Avec plus de 300 œuvres, dont des pièces récemment découvertes et des chefs-d'œuvre qui n'ont jamais quitté leur pays d'origine auparavant, Golden Kingdoms est une célébration épatante de l'art pré-colombien. Pourtant, l'événement représente bien plus que de simples reliques antiques. Il explore le concept universel qui consiste à capturer nos croyances sous forme physique au sein d'un monde éphémère.

MET-GK-Video

Regardez la conversation de David Yurman et de la curatrice Joanne Pillsbury au sujet de Golden Kingdoms

Watch David Yurman and curator
Joanne Pillsbury discuss "Golden Kingdoms"

MET-GK-NEW-IMAGE-02
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Trouvé dans une tombe de haut statut, ce masque funéraire (900-1100 ap. J.-C.)
est fabriqué en alliage d'or, d'argent et de cuivre.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Trouvé dans une tombe de haut statut, ce masque funéraire (900-1100 ap. J.-C.)
est fabriqué en alliage d'or, d'argent et de cuivre.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

MET-GK-Image-03

Dons des dieux

En Amérique antique, les métaux précieux n'étaient pas utilisés pour fabriquer des pièces ou des armes. Ils étaient habités par un pouvoir divin : l'or était associé au soleil et à l'homme, et l'argent à la lune et à la femme. L'orfèvrerie a probablement démarré en Amérique du Sud (vers 2000 av. J.-C.) avec le repoussé, une technique consistant à marteler des feuilles de métal par l'arrière, produisant ainsi un relief subtil. L'orfèvrerie s'est alors lentement répandue vers le nord, depuis les Andes jusqu'à ce qui est aujourd'hui le Mexique.

Au début du premier millénaire, les orfèvres pré-colombiens ont maîtrisé des techniques visant à combiner de l'or et de l'argent, représentant ainsi l'union du masculin et du féminin. La fusion des matériaux a beaucoup plu à David Yurman, ses bijoux sont en effet souvent basés sur plusieurs métaux.

Dons des dieux

En Amérique antique, les métaux précieux n'étaient pas utilisés pour fabriquer des pièces ou des armes. Ils étaient habités par un pouvoir divin : l'or était associé au soleil et à l'homme, et l'argent à la lune et à la femme. L'orfèvrerie a probablement démarré en Amérique du Sud (vers 2000 av. J.-C.) avec le repoussé, une technique consistant à marteler des feuilles de métal par l'arrière, produisant ainsi un relief subtil. L'orfèvrerie s'est alors lentement répandue vers le nord, depuis les Andes jusqu'à ce qui est aujourd'hui le Mexique.

Au début du premier millénaire, les orfèvres pré-colombiens ont maîtrisé des techniques visant à combiner de l'or et de l'argent, représentant ainsi l'union du masculin et du féminin. La fusion des matériaux a beaucoup plu à David Yurman, ses bijoux sont en effet souvent basés sur plusieurs métaux.

MET-GK-Image-05
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Un ornement de coffre (200-900 ap. J.-C.) créé à partir d'une feuille d'or martelée.
Bogota, Musée de l'or, Banque de la République

A B O V E

Un ornement de coffre (200-900 ap. J.-C.) créé à partir d'une feuille d'or martelée.
Bogota, Musée de l'or, Banque de la République

MET-GK-NEW-IMAGE-03
Texte alternatif

A B O V E

Un couteau de cérémonie pré-inca (900-1100 ap. J.-C.)
représentant un dieu en or avec des turquoises sur son chapeau.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Un couteau de cérémonie pré-inca (900-1100 ap. J.-C.)
représentant un dieu en or avec des turquoises sur son chapeau.
New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

MET-GK-Image-04

Femmes de pouvoir

Le rôle important des femmes dans ces sociétés, une découverte archéologique récente, est l'un des autres éléments de l'exposition ayant inspiré David Yurman. Certaines des créations les plus spectaculaires illustrent le pouvoir et l'importance des reines et des prêtresses, ce qui indique le rôle des sexes dans l'Amérique antique.
 

Avec leurs décorations détaillées, ces œuvres complexes faisaient partie d'un symbolisme fondé sur le corps. Les bijoux qui attiraient l'attention sur la bouche de la personne qui les portait illustraient son éloquence. Les bijoux d'oreilles élaborés indiquaient la noblesse. Lorsque les Espagnols sont arrivés en Amérique, ils identifiaient les dirigeants à leurs oreilles allongées ornées de bijoux spectaculaires.

Femmes de pouvoir

Le rôle important des femmes dans ces sociétés, une découverte archéologique récente, est l'un des autres éléments de l'exposition ayant inspiré David Yurman. Certaines des créations les plus spectaculaires illustrent le pouvoir et l'importance des reines et des prêtresses, ce qui indique le rôle des sexes dans l'Amérique antique.
 

Avec leurs décorations détaillées, ces œuvres complexes faisaient partie d'un symbolisme fondé sur le corps. Les bijoux qui attiraient l'attention sur la bouche de la personne qui les portait illustraient son éloquence. Les bijoux d'oreilles élaborés indiquaient la noblesse. Lorsque les Espagnols sont arrivés en Amérique, ils identifiaient les dirigeants à leurs oreilles allongées ornées de bijoux spectaculaires.

MET-GK-Copy-03-Quote

These exquisite objects were a primary
moyen de transmettre des idées
across regions and through time.

JOANNE PILLSBURY,
CURATOR

These exquisite objects
were a primary means by
which ideas were exchanged
across regions and through
time.

JOANNE PILLSBURY,
CURATOR

MET-GK-Copy-04

Un patrimoine rare

« Ces œuvres faisaient partie des travaux les plus importants de leur époque et le fait qu'ils aient survécu est extrêmement rare, déclare Joanne Pillsbury, curatrice de l'exposition. L'or, une matière exceptionnellement malléable, était très rapidement refondu durant les conquêtes et après cela », explique-t-elle.
 

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck- provoking a reaction that's the same today as it was in the past. Après avoir admiré les trésors de l'empereur aztèque Montezuma, l'artiste de la Renaissance Albrecht Dürer a déclaré : « De toute ma vie, je n'ai jamais rien vu qui ait autant réjouit mon cœur. For I saw amazing objects and I marveled at the subtle ingenuity of the l'homme de ces terres lointaines. » "

Un patrimoine rare

« Ces œuvres faisaient partie des travaux les plus importants de leur époque et le fait qu'ils aient survécu est extrêmement rare, déclare Joanne Pillsbury, curatrice de l'exposition. L'or, une matière exceptionnellement malléable, était très rapidement refondu durant les conquêtes et après cela », explique-t-elle.

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck- provoking a reaction that's the same today as it was in the past. Après avoir admiré les trésors de l'empereur aztèque Montezuma, l'artiste de la Renaissance Albrecht Dürer a déclaré : « De toute ma vie, je n'ai jamais rien vu qui ait autant réjouit mon cœur. Car j'ai pu admirer des objets exceptionnels et m'émerveiller à l'ingéniosité subtile de l'homme de ces terres lointaines. »

Skip to main content
Alt Text

A B O V E

A pendant in gold depicting a figure with human and jaguar
attributes from Colombia’s Tolima region (1 BC–AD 700).
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

Golden Kingdoms

Luxury and Legacy in the Ancient Americas

Golden Kingdoms

Luxury and Legacy in the Ancient Americas

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

— T H E   N E W   Y O R K   T I M E S

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

— T H E   N E W   Y O R K   T I M E S

Alt Text

A B O V E

Inlaid with turquoise and other precious materials, this Moche
ear ornament (AD 400–700) intricately depicts a winged runner.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Inlaid with turquoise and other precious materials, this Moche
ear ornament (AD 400–700) intricately depicts a winged runner.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Continuing in the Classical Tradition

In the ancient Americas, materials for luxury arts were meant to provoke a strong response—sensually and conceptually—to transport the wearer and beholders to new realms. “This speaks to me on a personal level as a designer and an artist,” says David Yurman. “The Met was my temple in my early twenties when I was dating my wife Sybil. She was at Hunter College and I drove her to the city from Putnam Valley where we lived and then went to the museum, getting to know the jewelry. It was my foundation.”
 

David’s fascination with ancient jewelry later became the catalyst to make historical forms contemporary—an idea that began with the first Cable bracelet and continues today. The fundamental role that the Met played for David and Sybil, as well as Golden Kingdoms’ cutting-edge exploration of luxury, visual arts and women in power inspired them to sponsor the exhibition at the New York City institution.

Continuing in the Classical Tradition

In the ancient Americas, materials for luxury arts were meant to provoke a strong response—sensually and conceptually—to transport the wearer and beholders to new realms. “This speaks to me on a personal level as a designer and an artist,” says David Yurman. “The Met was my temple in my early twenties when I was dating my wife Sybil. She was at Hunter College and I drove her to the city from Putnam Valley where we lived and then went to the museum, getting to know the jewelry. It was my foundation.”

David’s fascination with ancient jewelry later became the catalyst to make historical forms contemporary—an idea that began with the first Cable bracelet and continues today. The fundamental role that the Met played for David and Sybil, as well as Golden Kingdoms’ cutting-edge exploration of luxury, visual arts and women in power inspired them to sponsor the exhibition at the New York City institution.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A rare example of Aztec gold-working, this serpent labret
(AD 1300–1521) or lip pendant was cast with a movable tongue
to symbolize the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

 A rare example of Aztec gold-working, this
serpent labret (AD 1300–1521) or lip pendant
was cast with a movable tongue to symbolize
the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The Golden Road

Spanning 2,600 years and 2,600 miles, this landmark exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City follows the journey of gold artistry from the lands of the Incas to the lands of the Aztecs. With more than 300 works—including newly excavated pieces and masterpieces that have never left their home countries until now—Golden Kingdoms is a stunning celebration of pre-Columbian art. Yet, at its core, the show is about much more than ancient relics. It explores the universal concept of how, in an impermanent world, we anchor our deepest beliefs by capturing them in physical form.

The Golden Road

Spanning 2,600 years and 2,600 miles, this landmark exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City follows the journey of gold artistry from the lands of the Incas to the lands of the Aztecs. With more than 300 works—including newly excavated pieces and masterpieces that have never left their home countries until now—Golden Kingdoms is a stunning celebration of pre-Columbian art. Yet, at its core, the show is about much more than ancient relics. It explores the universal concept of how, in an impermanent world, we anchor our deepest beliefs by capturing them in physical form.

Watch David Yurman and curator Joanne Pillsbury discuss Golden Kingdoms

Watch David Yurman and curator
Joanne Pillsbury discuss "Golden Kingdoms"

Alt Text

A B O V E

Found in a high-status tomb, a funerary mask (AD 900-1100)
made from an alloy of gold, silver and copper.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Found in a high-status tomb, a funerary mask (AD 900-1100)
made from an alloy of gold, silver and copper.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Gifts from the Gods

In the ancient Americas, precious metals were not used for coins or weapons. They were inhabited by divine power: gold was associated with the sun and men, and silver with the moon and women. Gold-working was likely first embraced in South America (around 2000 B.C.) using repoussé, a technique where sheets of metals are hammered from the back producing low-relief ornamentation. Gold artistry then slowly spread northward from the Andes to what is now Mexico.

At the beginning of the first millennium, pre-Columbian metalsmiths mastered techniques to combine gold and silver in a single piece, representing the union of masculine and feminine. This fusion of materials resonated with David Yurman, as mixed metals are a cornerstone of his jewelry.

Gifts from the Gods

In the ancient Americas, precious metals were not used for coins or weapons. They were inhabited by divine power: gold was associated with the sun and men, and silver with the moon and women. Gold-working was likely first embraced in South America (around 2000 B.C.) using repoussé, a technique where sheets of metals are hammered from the back producing low-relief ornamentation. Gold artistry then slowly spread northward from the Andes to what is now Mexico.

At the beginning of the first millennium, pre-Columbian metalsmiths mastered techniques to combine gold and silver in a single piece, representing the union of masculine and feminine. This fusion of materials resonated with David Yurman, as mixed metals are a cornerstone of his jewelry.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A chest ornament (AD 200-900) fashioned from a hammered gold sheet.
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

A B O V E

A chest ornament (AD 200-900) fashioned from a hammered gold sheet.
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A ceremonial pre-Incan knife (AD 900–1100)
representing a golden deity with turquoise stones in his headdress.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

A ceremonial pre-Incan knife (AD 900–1100)
representing a golden deity with turquoise stones in his headdress.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Powerful Women

Another element of the exhibition that inspired David Yurman is the role prominent women played in these early societies—a very recent archaeological discovery. Some of the most spectacular creations express the power and importance of queens and priestesses, shining a new light on gender in the ancient Americas.
 

Along with their rich decoration, these labor-intensive works were also steeped in symbolism that used the body as its canvas. Jewelry that drew attention to the mouth  expressed the wearer’s eloquence. Elaborate ear ornaments communicated noble status. When the Spanish arrived in the Americas, they were able to identify the ruling class by their elongated floppy ears adorned with spectacular ornamentation.

Powerful Women

Another element of the exhibition that inspired David Yurman is the role prominent women played in these early societies—a very recent archaeological discovery. Some of the most spectacular creations express the power and importance of queens and priestesses, shining a new light on gender in the ancient Americas.
 

Along with their rich decoration, these labor-intensive works were also steeped in symbolism that used the body as its canvas. Jewelry that drew attention to the mouth  expressed the wearer’s eloquence. Elaborate ear ornaments communicated noble status. When the Spanish arrived in the Americas, they were able to identify the ruling class by their elongated floppy ears adorned with spectacular ornamentation.

These exquisite objects were a primary
means by which ideas were exchanged
across regions and through time.


— J O A N N E   P I L L S B U R Y,
C U R A T O R

These exquisite objects
were a primary means by
which ideas were exchanged
across regions and through
time.


— J O A N N E   P I L L S B U R Y,
C U R A T O R

A Rare Legacy

“These works were among the most important of their time and their survival is exceptionally rare,” says Joanne Pillsbury, the exhibition’s curator. “Gold—that most mutable of materials—was quickly melted down at the time of the conquest and beyond,” she explains.
 

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck— provoking a reaction that’s the same today as it was in the past. When seeing Aztec emperor Montezuma’s treasures, Renaissance artist Albrecht Dürer wrote, “I have never in all my days seen anything that so delighted my heart as these things. For I saw amazing objects and I marveled at the subtle ingenuity of the men in these distant lands. "

A Rare Legacy

“These works were among the most important of their time and their survival is exceptionally rare,” says Joanne Pillsbury, the exhibition’s curator. “Gold—that most mutable of materials—was quickly melted down at the time of the conquest and beyond,” she explains.

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck— provoking a reaction that’s the same today as it was in the past. When seeing Aztec emperor Montezuma’s treasures, Renaissance artist Albrecht Dürer wrote, “I have never in all my days seen anything that so delighted my heart as these things. For I saw amazing objects and I marveled at the subtle ingenuity of the men in these distant lands."