跳转至主要内容
替换文字

上图

源自哥伦比亚托利马地区表现人物与美洲虎特征的
黄金坠饰(公元前1年 - 公元700年)。
波哥大,黄金博物馆,共和国银行。

黄金王国

古代美洲的奢华与传统

黄金王国

古代美洲的奢华与传统

黄金王国是闪烁金光的前哥伦布时代真正的主角。

- 《纽约时报》

黄金王国是闪烁金光的前哥伦布时代真正的主角。

- 《纽约时报》

替换文字

上图

镶嵌绿松石和其他珍贵材质,这款莫奇耳饰
(公元400-700年)细致入微地表现了一位长着翅膀的跑者。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

上图

镶嵌绿松石和其他珍贵材质,这款莫奇耳饰
(公元400-700年)细致入微地表现了一位长着翅膀的跑者。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

延续古典传统

在古代美洲,奢华艺术品的材料意在引起感官和概念上的强烈反应,将佩戴者和旁观者引入新的境界。David Yurman说:“这对作为设计师和艺术家的我有着个人层面上的影响。” “在我20多岁的时候,大都会博物馆是我的圣殿。我正在和Sybil约会,她在亨特学院,我从我们住的普特南山谷载着她去城里,然后就去博物馆浏览那些珠宝。这为我打下了基础。”
 

David对古代珠宝的迷恋成为他将历史性形式现代化的催化剂,这是从第一款Cable手镯开始延续至今的理念。大都会艺术馆对David和Sybil的源起角色,以及黄金王国对奢华、视觉艺术和女性权力的前沿探索,激发了他们赞助在纽约市的展览。

延续古典传统

在古代美洲,奢华艺术品的材料意在引起感官和概念上的强烈反应,将佩戴者和旁观者引入新的境界。David Yurman说:“这对作为设计师和艺术家的我有着个人层面上的影响。” “在我20多岁的时候,大都会博物馆是我的圣殿。我正在和Sybil约会,她在亨特学院,我从我们住的普特南山谷载着她去城里,然后就去博物馆浏览那些珠宝。这为我打下了基础。”

David对古代珠宝的迷恋成为他将历史性形式现代化的催化剂,这是从第一款Cable手镯开始延续至今的理念。大都会艺术馆对David和Sybil的源起角色,以及黄金王国对奢华、视觉艺术和女性权力的前沿探索,激发了他们赞助在纽约市的展览。

替换文字

上图

一件稀有的阿兹特克黄金艺术品,这件蛇型唇饰
(公元1300 - 1521年)或嘴唇吊坠铸有一条可以活动的舌头,
象征着皇帝的口才。纽约,
大都会艺术博物馆。

上图

 一件稀有的阿兹特克黄金艺术品,这件
蛇型唇饰(公元1300 - 1521年)或嘴唇吊坠
铸有一条可以活动的舌头,象征着
皇帝的口才。纽约,
大都会艺术博物馆。

黄金之路

跨越2,600年、2,600英里,纽约大都会艺术博物馆这个有里程碑意义的展览表现了从印加人到阿兹特克人的土地上的黄金艺术之旅。 共有超过300件展品 - 包括新出土的文物和迄今从未离开过本国的珍品 - 黄金王国是前哥伦布时期艺术的令人惊叹的盛典。 然而,展览的核心意义远不止于古代文物。它探讨了在变幻无常的世界中,我们如何通过以具象形式来锚固我们最深的信念这一普世概念。

黄金之路

跨越2,600年、2,600英里,纽约大都会艺术博物馆这个有里程碑意义的展览表现了从印加人到阿兹特克人的土地上的黄金艺术之旅。 共有超过300件展品 - 包括新出土的文物和迄今从未离开过本国的珍品 - 黄金王国是前哥伦布时期艺术的令人惊叹的盛典。 然而,展览的核心意义远不止于古代文物。它探讨了在变幻无常的世界中,我们如何通过以具象形式来锚固我们最深的信念这一普世概念。

观看David Yurman与策展人Joanne Pillsbury介绍黄金王国展览的视频

观看David Yurman与策展人
Joanne Pillsbury介绍黄金王国展览的视频

替换文字

上图

出土于一个高阶层人物墓葬的陪葬面具(公元 900-1100年),
以金、银和铜的合金制成。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

上图

出土于一个高阶层人物墓葬的陪葬面具(公元 900-1100年),
以金、银和铜的合金制成。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

来自上帝的礼物

在古代美洲,贵金属并不用来铸造钱币或制作武器。它们是神力的居所:黄金与太阳和男人有关,白银则与月亮和女人有关。 黄金艺术品可能首先在南美洲(约公元前2000年)通过repoussé工艺为人们所接受。这一工艺从金属片背面锤打,产生浅浮雕装饰效果。 然后黄金艺术从安第斯地区慢慢向北扩展到现在的墨西哥。

大约公元1000年左右,前哥伦布时期的金属工匠们熟练掌握了将黄金和白银结合在一起的技术,象征着男性和女性的结合。这种材料的融合与David Yurman有着共鸣,因为合金是其珠宝设计的基石。

来自上帝的礼物

在古代美洲,贵金属并不用来铸造钱币或制作武器。它们是神力的居所:黄金与太阳和男人有关,白银则与月亮和女人有关。 黄金艺术品可能首先在南美洲(约公元前2000年)通过repoussé工艺为人们所接受。这一工艺从金属片背面锤打,产生浅浮雕装饰效果。 然后黄金艺术从安第斯地区慢慢向北扩展到现在的墨西哥。

大约公元1000年左右,前哥伦布时期的金属工匠们熟练掌握了将黄金和白银结合在一起的技术,象征着男性和女性的结合。这种材料的融合与David Yurman有着共鸣,因为合金是其珠宝设计的基石。

替换文字

上图

由捶打金片制作的胸饰(公元200-900年)
波哥大,黄金博物馆,共和国银行。

上图

由捶打金片制作的胸饰(公元200-900年)
波哥大,黄金博物馆,共和国银行。

替换文字

上图

前印加时代仪式用刀(公元900-1100年),
表现一尊以黄金打造的神像,其帽子上镶嵌着绿松石。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

上图

前印加时代仪式用刀(公元900-1100年),
表现一尊以黄金打造的神像,其帽子上镶嵌着绿松石。
纽约,大都会艺术博物馆。

掌控权力的女性

该展览激发David Yurman的另一个元素是身居高位的女性在这些早期社会中的作用 - 源自非常近期的一次考古发现。一些最为引人注目的作品表现了皇后和女祭司的力量和重要性,为古代美洲对性别的态度带来了新的启示。
 

除了它们丰富的装饰之外,这些需要繁重人力的作品也饱含以身体为画布的象征主义。让人注意嘴部的珠宝表现佩戴者的口才。精心打造的耳饰传达其高贵的地位。当西班牙人来到美洲时,他们能够通过装饰有精美饰品的细长型耳朵来识别统治阶层。

掌控权力的女性

该展览激发David Yurman的另一个元素是身居高位的女性在这些早期社会中的作用 - 源自非常近期的一次考古发现。一些最为引人注目的作品表现了皇后和女祭司的力量和重要性,为古代美洲对性别的态度带来了新的启示。
 

除了它们丰富的装饰之外,这些需要繁重人力的作品也饱含以身体为画布的象征主义。让人注意嘴部的珠宝表现佩戴者的口才。精心打造的耳饰传达其高贵的地位。当西班牙人来到美洲时,他们能够通过装饰有精美饰品的细长型耳朵来识别统治阶层。

这些精美的器件,
是跨越时空来
交流思想的主要手段。


- J O A N N E P I L L S B U R Y
博物馆馆长

这些精美的器件,
是跨越时空来
交流思想的
主要
手段。


- J O A N N E P I L L S B U R Y
博物馆馆长

稀有的遗产

展览策展人Joanne Pillsbury说:“这些作品是各自时代最重要的艺术,它们的存世极为罕见。” 她进一步解释道:“黄金是所有材料中最容易变化的,常常在征服者的统治下迅速被融化。”
 

幸运的是,一些体现前哥伦布时期精湛技艺,令人惊叹不已的作品得以留存,例如一套从西班牙沉船中打捞出来的被掠夺的金饰 - 在今天仍能引发人们与当年一样的反应。 文艺复兴时期的艺术家Albrecht Dürer在看到阿兹特克皇帝Montezuma的宝藏时写道:“我有生之年从未见过任何像这些物品这样让我心喜不已的东西。因为我看到了绝对精妙的作品,我惊叹于这些遥远国度的人们 奥妙无比的创造力。 "

稀有的遗产

展览策展人Joanne Pillsbury说:“这些作品是各自时代最重要的艺术,它们的存世极为罕见。” 她进一步解释道:“黄金是所有材料中最容易变化的,常常在征服者的统治下迅速被融化。”

幸运的是,一些体现前哥伦布时期精湛技艺,令人惊叹不已的作品得以留存,例如一套从西班牙沉船中打捞出来的被掠夺的金饰 - 在今天仍能引发人们与当年一样的反应。文艺复兴时期的艺术家Albrecht Dürer在看到阿兹特克皇帝Montezuma的宝藏时写道:“我有生之年从未见过任何像这些物品这样让我心喜不已的东西。因为我看到了绝对精妙的作品,我惊叹于这些遥远国度的人们奥妙无比的创造力。”

Skip to main content
Alt Text

A B O V E

A pendant in gold depicting a figure with human and jaguar
attributes from Colombia’s Tolima region (1 BC–AD 700).
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

Golden Kingdoms

Luxury and Legacy in the Ancient Americas

Golden Kingdoms

Luxury and Legacy in the Ancient Americas

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

— T H E   N E W   Y O R K   T I M E S

Golden Kingdoms is a bona fide blockbuster of pre-Columbian bling.

— T H E   N E W   Y O R K   T I M E S

Alt Text

A B O V E

Inlaid with turquoise and other precious materials, this Moche
ear ornament (AD 400–700) intricately depicts a winged runner.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Inlaid with turquoise and other precious materials, this Moche
ear ornament (AD 400–700) intricately depicts a winged runner.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Continuing in the Classical Tradition

In the ancient Americas, materials for luxury arts were meant to provoke a strong response—sensually and conceptually—to transport the wearer and beholders to new realms. “This speaks to me on a personal level as a designer and an artist,” says David Yurman. “The Met was my temple in my early twenties when I was dating my wife Sybil. She was at Hunter College and I drove her to the city from Putnam Valley where we lived and then went to the museum, getting to know the jewelry. It was my foundation.”
 

David’s fascination with ancient jewelry later became the catalyst to make historical forms contemporary—an idea that began with the first Cable bracelet and continues today. The fundamental role that the Met played for David and Sybil, as well as Golden Kingdoms’ cutting-edge exploration of luxury, visual arts and women in power inspired them to sponsor the exhibition at the New York City institution.

Continuing in the Classical Tradition

In the ancient Americas, materials for luxury arts were meant to provoke a strong response—sensually and conceptually—to transport the wearer and beholders to new realms. “This speaks to me on a personal level as a designer and an artist,” says David Yurman. “The Met was my temple in my early twenties when I was dating my wife Sybil. She was at Hunter College and I drove her to the city from Putnam Valley where we lived and then went to the museum, getting to know the jewelry. It was my foundation.”

David’s fascination with ancient jewelry later became the catalyst to make historical forms contemporary—an idea that began with the first Cable bracelet and continues today. The fundamental role that the Met played for David and Sybil, as well as Golden Kingdoms’ cutting-edge exploration of luxury, visual arts and women in power inspired them to sponsor the exhibition at the New York City institution.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A rare example of Aztec gold-working, this serpent labret
(AD 1300–1521) or lip pendant was cast with a movable tongue
to symbolize the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

 A rare example of Aztec gold-working, this
serpent labret (AD 1300–1521) or lip pendant
was cast with a movable tongue to symbolize
the emperor’s eloquence. New York,
The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The Golden Road

Spanning 2,600 years and 2,600 miles, this landmark exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City follows the journey of gold artistry from the lands of the Incas to the lands of the Aztecs. With more than 300 works—including newly excavated pieces and masterpieces that have never left their home countries until now—Golden Kingdoms is a stunning celebration of pre-Columbian art. Yet, at its core, the show is about much more than ancient relics. It explores the universal concept of how, in an impermanent world, we anchor our deepest beliefs by capturing them in physical form.

The Golden Road

Spanning 2,600 years and 2,600 miles, this landmark exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City follows the journey of gold artistry from the lands of the Incas to the lands of the Aztecs. With more than 300 works—including newly excavated pieces and masterpieces that have never left their home countries until now—Golden Kingdoms is a stunning celebration of pre-Columbian art. Yet, at its core, the show is about much more than ancient relics. It explores the universal concept of how, in an impermanent world, we anchor our deepest beliefs by capturing them in physical form.

Watch David Yurman and curator Joanne Pillsbury discuss Golden Kingdoms

Watch David Yurman and curator
Joanne Pillsbury discuss "Golden Kingdoms"

Alt Text

A B O V E

Found in a high-status tomb, a funerary mask (AD 900-1100)
made from an alloy of gold, silver and copper.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

Found in a high-status tomb, a funerary mask (AD 900-1100)
made from an alloy of gold, silver and copper.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Gifts from the Gods

In the ancient Americas, precious metals were not used for coins or weapons. They were inhabited by divine power: gold was associated with the sun and men, and silver with the moon and women. Gold-working was likely first embraced in South America (around 2000 B.C.) using repoussé, a technique where sheets of metals are hammered from the back producing low-relief ornamentation. Gold artistry then slowly spread northward from the Andes to what is now Mexico.

At the beginning of the first millennium, pre-Columbian metalsmiths mastered techniques to combine gold and silver in a single piece, representing the union of masculine and feminine. This fusion of materials resonated with David Yurman, as mixed metals are a cornerstone of his jewelry.

Gifts from the Gods

In the ancient Americas, precious metals were not used for coins or weapons. They were inhabited by divine power: gold was associated with the sun and men, and silver with the moon and women. Gold-working was likely first embraced in South America (around 2000 B.C.) using repoussé, a technique where sheets of metals are hammered from the back producing low-relief ornamentation. Gold artistry then slowly spread northward from the Andes to what is now Mexico.

At the beginning of the first millennium, pre-Columbian metalsmiths mastered techniques to combine gold and silver in a single piece, representing the union of masculine and feminine. This fusion of materials resonated with David Yurman, as mixed metals are a cornerstone of his jewelry.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A chest ornament (AD 200-900) fashioned from a hammered gold sheet.
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

A B O V E

A chest ornament (AD 200-900) fashioned from a hammered gold sheet.
Bogotá, Museo del Oro, Banco de la República.

Alt Text

A B O V E

A ceremonial pre-Incan knife (AD 900–1100)
representing a golden deity with turquoise stones in his headdress.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

A B O V E

A ceremonial pre-Incan knife (AD 900–1100)
representing a golden deity with turquoise stones in his headdress.
New York, The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Powerful Women

Another element of the exhibition that inspired David Yurman is the role prominent women played in these early societies—a very recent archaeological discovery. Some of the most spectacular creations express the power and importance of queens and priestesses, shining a new light on gender in the ancient Americas.
 

Along with their rich decoration, these labor-intensive works were also steeped in symbolism that used the body as its canvas. Jewelry that drew attention to the mouth  expressed the wearer’s eloquence. Elaborate ear ornaments communicated noble status. When the Spanish arrived in the Americas, they were able to identify the ruling class by their elongated floppy ears adorned with spectacular ornamentation.

Powerful Women

Another element of the exhibition that inspired David Yurman is the role prominent women played in these early societies—a very recent archaeological discovery. Some of the most spectacular creations express the power and importance of queens and priestesses, shining a new light on gender in the ancient Americas.
 

Along with their rich decoration, these labor-intensive works were also steeped in symbolism that used the body as its canvas. Jewelry that drew attention to the mouth  expressed the wearer’s eloquence. Elaborate ear ornaments communicated noble status. When the Spanish arrived in the Americas, they were able to identify the ruling class by their elongated floppy ears adorned with spectacular ornamentation.

These exquisite objects were a primary
means by which ideas were exchanged
across regions and through time.


— J O A N N E   P I L L S B U R Y,
C U R A T O R

These exquisite objects
were a primary means by
which ideas were exchanged
across regions and through
time.


— J O A N N E   P I L L S B U R Y,
C U R A T O R

A Rare Legacy

“These works were among the most important of their time and their survival is exceptionally rare,” says Joanne Pillsbury, the exhibition’s curator. “Gold—that most mutable of materials—was quickly melted down at the time of the conquest and beyond,” she explains.
 

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck— provoking a reaction that’s the same today as it was in the past. When seeing Aztec emperor Montezuma’s treasures, Renaissance artist Albrecht Dürer wrote, “I have never in all my days seen anything that so delighted my heart as these things. For I saw amazing objects and I marveled at the subtle ingenuity of the men in these distant lands. "

A Rare Legacy

“These works were among the most important of their time and their survival is exceptionally rare,” says Joanne Pillsbury, the exhibition’s curator. “Gold—that most mutable of materials—was quickly melted down at the time of the conquest and beyond,” she explains.

Fortunately, some breathtaking examples of pre-Colombian virtuosity remain, such as a plundered set of gold ornaments recovered from a Spanish shipwreck— provoking a reaction that’s the same today as it was in the past. When seeing Aztec emperor Montezuma’s treasures, Renaissance artist Albrecht Dürer wrote, “I have never in all my days seen anything that so delighted my heart as these things. For I saw amazing objects and I marveled at the subtle ingenuity of the men in these distant lands."