跳转至主要内容

冰 - 短暂而永恒

Cable扭纹的惊艳演绎

冰 - 短暂而永恒

Cable扭纹的惊艳演绎

冰雕

在纽约寒冷的冬日,天气并不是唯一结冰的东西。在Soho的David Yurman精品专卖店,参观者们见到了一款Cable扭纹手镯,它有着完全不一样的冷,有着虽然短暂却令人着迷的形式。

由艺术家Shintaro Okamoto用一块巨大的冰块雕刻而成,这款手镯与贵金属和钻石 - 另一种冰 - 所具有的永恒之美形成了强烈的对比。在上面的视频里,您可以看到Okamoto一边工作,一边讲述他的艺术思考过程。

冰雕

在纽约寒冷的冬日,天气并不是唯一结冰的东西。在Soho的David Yurman精品专卖店,参观者们见到了一款Cable扭纹手镯,它有着完全不一样的冷,有着虽然短暂却令人着迷的形式。

由艺术家Shintaro Okamoto用一块巨大的冰块雕刻而成,这款手镯与贵金属和钻石 - 另一种冰 - 所具有的永恒之美形成了强烈的对比。在上面的视频里,您可以看到Okamoto一边工作,一边讲述他的艺术思考过程。

带着白手套的Shintaro Okamoto正在进行一座DY cable扭纹手镯冰雕的黑白照片。

Shintaro Okamoto雕刻DY Cable扭纹手镯的细节。

Shintaro Okamoto雕刻DY Cable扭纹手镯的细节。

冰的
双重意义

有些人说钻石被叫做“冰”,是因为它们像冰冻的水。其他人则引用更有科学性的原因:即使在加热时钻石仍能保持凉爽。
 
无论原因如何,它们晶莹、迷人的美是冰与钻石之间的相似之处。这个绰号把两种截然相反的材料连在一起,凸显瞬间与永恒的对比。

David Yurman是最早将钻石镶嵌在925纯银上的珠宝设计师之一。他把这些作品称为Silver Ice®,名字很适合那些将日常风格和精致奢华相结合的单品。

冰的
双重意义

有些人说钻石被叫做“冰”,是因为它们像冰冻的水。其他人则引用更有科学性的原因:在室温下,钻石是导热率最高的材料之一。

无论原因如何,它们晶莹、迷人的美是冰与钻石之间的相似之处。这个绰号把两种截然相反的材料连在一起,凸显瞬间与永恒的对比。

David Yurman是最早将钻石镶嵌在925纯银上的珠宝设计师之一。他把这些作品称为Silver Ice®,名字很适合那些将日常风格和精致奢华相结合的单品。

巴黎万神殿,人们正在拍摄Olafur Eliasson和Minik Thorleif Rosing的“冰表工程”的彩色照片。2014年斯德哥尔摩电影节前,艺术家艾未未夜里在Norrmalmstorg完成的狮子冰雕彩色照片。

上图:“冰表工程”,作者Olafur Eliasson和Minik
Thorleif Rosing在巴黎的万神殿。
 

右:2014年斯德哥尔摩电影节前
艾未未在Norrmalmstorg的冰雕。

上图:“冰表工程”,作者Olafur Eliasson和Minik
Thorleif Rosing在巴黎的万神殿。


右:2014年斯德哥尔摩电影节前
艾未未在Norrmalmstorg的冰雕。

冰作为艺术

就像David用灿烂的钻石制作雕塑,Shintaro Okamoto这样大胆的雕塑家将冰块雕刻成引人注目、象征性的形态。冰冻的水可以对时间、自然、寿命和力量做出有意义的表达。从这个意义上,它与钻石并没有太大的分别。
 

艾未未是当今最有影响力的艺术家之一,他是一位中国持不同政见者和活动家,利用艺术来发表政治性的宣言。在2013年斯德哥尔摩电影节开幕前,他通过两头美丽的冰雕狮子引起了轰动。他的灵感来自保护着北京紫禁城的狮子雕塑,象征着即使是最强大的国家和领导,最终也会在历史长河中消逝。
 

2014年,丹麦雕塑家Olafur Eliasson与地质学家Minik Rosing合作,在哥本哈根和巴黎创造安装了名为“冰表”的作品。在气候变化会议期间,他使用来自格陵兰的十二块冰山来提高对这一现象的认识。放置在一个巨大的圆圈中,让这些冷冻的形态形成一个“时钟”,访客可以直接看到北极冰正在融化的现实。

冰作为艺术

就像David用灿烂的钻石制作雕塑,Shintaro Okamoto这样大胆的雕塑家将冰块雕刻成引人注目、象征性的形态。冰冻的水可以对时间、自然、寿命和力量做出有意义的表达。从这个意义上,它与钻石并没有太大的分别。
 

艾未未是当今最有影响力的艺术家之一,他是一位中国持不同政见者和活动家,利用艺术来发表政治性的宣言。在2013年斯德哥尔摩电影节开幕前,他通过两头美丽的冰雕狮子引起了轰动。他的灵感来自保护着北京紫禁城的狮子雕塑,象征着即使是最强大的国家和领导,最终也会在历史长河中消逝。
 

2014年,丹麦雕塑家Olafur Eliasson与地质学家Minik Rosing合作,在哥本哈根和巴黎创造安装了名为“冰表”的作品。在气候变化会议期间,他使用来自格陵兰的十二块冰山来提高对这一现象的认识。放置在一个巨大的圆圈中,让这些冷冻的形态形成一个“时钟”,访客可以直接看到北极冰正在融化的现实。

梦幻
假期

对于Yurman全家,与冰的相遇是一种神奇的体验,激发了我们的2018年节庆宣传活动和橱窗布置。

梦幻假期

对于Yurman全家,与冰的相遇是一种神奇的体验,激发了我们的2018年节庆宣传活动和橱窗布置。

Skip to main content

Ice—Transitory and Eternal

A Surprising Interpretation of Cable

Ice—Transitory and Eternal

A Surprising Interpretation of Cable

Sculpted in Ice

The weather wasn’t the only thing icy on a frigid day in New York City. At the David Yurman boutique in Soho, visitors encountered a Cable bracelet with an entirely different kind of cool, a form as captivating as it was ephemeral.

Carved out of a tremendous block of ice by artist Shintaro Okamoto, the bracelet was a powerful counterpoint to the everlasting beauty of precious metals and diamonds—ice of a different kind. In the video above, see Okamoto work on the piece as he describes the process of his craft.

Sculpted in Ice

The weather wasn’t the only thing icy on a frigid day in New York City. At the David Yurman boutique in Soho, visitors encountered a Cable bracelet with an entirely different kind of cool, a form as captivating as it was ephemeral.

Carved out of a tremendous block of ice by artist Shintaro Okamoto, the bracelet was a powerful counterpoint to the everlasting beauty of precious metals and diamonds—ice of a different kind. In the video above, see Okamoto work on the piece as he describes the process of his craft.

A black-and-white photo of Shintaro Okamoto wearing white gloves while carving a DY cable bracelet from ice.

Detail of Shintaro Okamoto carving the DY cable bracelet.

Detail of Shintaro Okamoto carving the DY cable bracelet.

The Double
Meaning of Ice

Some say that diamonds are called “ice” because they resemble frozen water. Others cite a more scientific reason: a diamond remains cool to the touch even when heated.
 
Regardless of why, their crystalline, mesmerizing beauty is where the similarity between ice and diamonds ends. The nickname juxtaposes two diametrically opposed materials, playing with the contradiction of the transient with the everlasting.

David Yurman was one of the very first jewelry designers to set diamonds in sterling silver. He calls these creations Silver Ice®, an apt name for pieces that pair everyday style with exquisite luxury.

The Double
Meaning of Ice

Some say that diamonds are called “ice” because they resemble frozen water. Others cite a more scientific reason: a diamond has one of the highest thermal conductivities at room temperature of any material.

Regardless of why, their crystalline, mesmerizing beauty is where the similarity between ice and diamonds ends. The nickname juxtaposes two diametrically opposed materials, playing with the contradiction of the transient with the everlasting.

David Yurman was one of the very first jewelry designers to set diamonds in sterling silver. He calls these creations Silver Ice®, an apt name for pieces that pair everyday style with exquisite luxury.

A color photograph of people taking pictures of 'Ice Watch Project,' ice sculptures by Olafur Eliasson and Minik Thorleif Rosing at Place du Pantheon in Paris. A color photograph of artist Ai Weiwei’s lion sculptures carved from ice at night at Norrmalmstorg before the Stockholm International Film Festival 2014.

ABOVE: 'Ice Watch Project' by Olafur Eliasson and Minik
Thorleif Rosing at Place du Pantheon in Paris.
 

RIGHT: Ai Weiwei ice sculptures at Norrmalmstorg before the
Stockholm International Film Festival 2014.

ABOVE: 'Ice Watch Project' by Olafur Eliasson and Minik
Thorleif Rosing at Place du Pantheon in Paris.


RIGHT: Ai Weiwei ice sculptures at Norrmalmstorg before the
Stockholm International Film Festival 2014.

Ice as Art

As David makes sculpture to wear from brilliant diamonds, audacious sculptors like Shintaro Okamoto shape ice into arresting, emblematic forms. Frozen water can make a meaningful statement about time, nature, longevity and power. In that sense, it’s not so different from diamonds.
 

Ai Weiwei, one of the most influential artists living today, is a Chinese political dissident and activist who uses art to make political statements. At the opening of the Stockholm International Film Festival in 2013, he created a buzz with two beautiful lions carved from ice. Inspired by the lion sculptures that guard Beijing’s Forbidden City, they symbolized that even the most powerful nations and leaders eventually fade.
 

Danish sculptor Olafur Eliasson, in partnership with the geologist Minik Rosing, created installations in Copenhagen and Paris called “Ice Watch” in 2014. He used a dozen icebergs from Greenland on the occasion of the Climate Change Conference to raise awareness of the phenomenon. Placed in a huge circle so the frozen forms created a “clock,” visitors directly observed the reality of melting arctic ice.

Ice as Art

As David makes sculpture to wear from brilliant diamonds, audacious sculptors like Shintaro Okamoto shape ice into arresting, emblematic forms. Frozen water can make a meaningful statement about time, nature, longevity and power. In that sense, it’s not so different from diamonds.
 

Ai Weiwei, one of the most influential artists living today, is a Chinese political dissident and activist who uses art to make political statements. At the opening of the Stockholm International Film Festival in 2013, he created a buzz with two beautiful lions carved from ice. Inspired by the lion sculptures that guard Beijing’s Forbidden City, they symbolized that even the most powerful nations and leaders eventually fade.
 

Danish sculptor Olafur Eliasson, in partnership with the geologist Minik Rosing, created installations in Copenhagen and Paris called “Ice Watch” in 2014. He used a dozen icebergs from Greenland on the occasion of the Climate Change Conference to raise awareness of the phenomenon. Placed in a huge circle so the frozen forms created a “clock,” visitors directly observed the reality of melting arctic ice.

An Enchanted
Holiday

For the Yurman family, encountering ice is a magical experience that inspired our 2018 Holiday campaign and windows.

An Enchanted Holiday

For the Yurman family, encountering ice is a magical experience that inspired our 2018 Holiday campaign and windows.