跳转至主要内容
石头背景映衬的925纯银Cable扣环和光滑金扣环David Yurman链状项链。

一本值得珍藏的书

David Yurman Cable纽纹

一本值得珍藏的书

David Yurman Cable纽纹

替换文字

作者精选段落。

作者精选段落。

Cable扭纹革命和演进

作者:Paul Greenhalgh

作为一种主要的形式,cable扭纹可以在自然界和艺术作品中找到; 因此它属于跨越世界文化的一个通用的形状家族......这些雕塑形式贯穿了整个人类体验。
 

远在人类之前,植物就构成了cable扭纹,教给了我们如何制造。纵观历史,cable扭纹总是与通信和连接有关。来自不同地区的考古证据表明,cable(线缆)最初是作为一种赋予材料强度的技术而开发的,将天然纤维缠绕在一起......通过自然、技术和艺术,cable串连起全方位的人类体验。
 

在释放与过往的创造力之间的联系时,cable主题让Yurman夫妇神游于源自古老设计家族的世界。
 

远早于他正式成为雕塑家和珠宝商之前,David Yurman就预言性地遭遇了cable在自然中的意义。他讲述了一个自己青年时代的故事:“很偶然地,我做了个叛逆性的决定,要逃课去一个有着繁茂树木的地方玩。那里有美丽的大树,周遭悬挂着巨大的藤曼,非常结实,你可以抓着荡秋千。这是一种自然形式的内在联系。”
...



 

作者简介:

P A U L G R E E N H A L G H
,英国诺里奇东安格利亚大学Sainsbury视觉艺术中心主任,曾任华盛顿特区科科伦美术馆馆长和科科伦艺术与设计学院院长。

Cable扭纹革命
和演进

作者:Paul Greenhalgh

作为一种主要的形式,cable扭纹可以在自然界和艺术作品中找到; 因此它属于跨越世界文化的一个通用的形状家族......这些雕塑形式贯穿了整个人类体验。

远在人类之前,植物就构成了cable扭纹,教给了我们如何制造。纵观历史,cable扭纹总是与通信和连接有关。来自不同地区的考古证据表明,cable(线缆)最初是作为一种赋予材料强度的技术而开发的,将天然纤维缠绕在一起......通过自然、技术和艺术,cable串连起全方位的人类体验。

在释放与过往的创造力之间的联系时,cable主题让Yurman夫妇神游于源自古老设计家族的世界。

远早于他正式成为雕塑家和珠宝商之前,David Yurman就预言性地遭遇了cable在自然中的意义。他讲述了一个自己青年时代的故事:“很偶然地,我做了个叛逆性的决定,要逃课去一个有着繁茂树木的地方玩。那里有美丽的大树,周遭悬挂着巨大的藤曼,非常结实,你可以抓着荡秋千。这是一种自然形式的内在联系。”
... 
 

 

作者简介: 

P A U L G R E E N H A L G H
,英国诺里奇东安格利亚大学Sainsbury视觉艺术中心主任,曾任华盛顿特区科科伦美术馆馆长和科科伦艺术与设计学院院长。

当我们最初设计出Cable扭纹时,
我们对来自古代世界的形状着迷不已,
便延续了这一古典的传统。
通过这种方式,现代和古代世界
交织在一起 - 两者的扭曲纠缠
体现了这一设计的精妙。

我们对来自古代的形态着迷不已,开发cable扭纹产品的初衷便是延续这一古典传统。通过这种方式,现代和古代世界交织在一起 - 两者的扭曲纠缠体现了这一设计的精妙。

一座Malchos之女Aththaia的石灰岩纪念碑,她佩戴着一条cable项链和一对相配的手镯。公元2世纪,叙利亚。波士顿美术馆。

一座Malchos之女Aththaia的石灰岩纪念碑,
她佩戴着一条cable项链和一对相配的手镯。
公元2世纪,叙利亚。波士顿美术馆

一座Malchos之女Aththaia的石灰岩纪念碑,她佩戴着一条cable项链和一对相配的手镯。公元2世纪,叙利亚。波士顿美术馆

Yurman连续性

作者:William Norwich

有许多因素让Yurman珠宝成为出色的艺术品。“创造力”将位列榜首,接下来是“经典”......经典与创造力这两个词通常不大会一起使用。当然,对于David Yurman的cable扭纹设计,它们定义了他的灵感。
 

在将近四十年的时间里,cable扭纹连接起一个艺术作品机体。在每一个David Yurman系列中,cable扭纹都有着创新和美观的体现方式 - 与顺滑抛光金属表面的鲜明对比,或者将其圆柱形状压平,让扭纹变成一种浮雕、一次透视实验。Cable扭纹被用作特征、珠子、镶嵌、扣环,还曾雕琢于宝石之上。
 

作为一个微妙的特征,它通常出现在只有佩戴者能看到的戒指内侧或者吊坠的背面。David将cable扭纹转化为扭结,意指cable与绳索的联系。或者他会将其雕刻成一个编织图案,作为对航海绳索的解读。当David将金和银混合时,金属的惊艳组合通过cable扭纹结合起来。椭圆扣环链代表cable扭纹是贯穿所有设计的主题,是连接的象征。
...


 

 

作者简介:
  

W I L L I A M N O R W I C H 曾经为纽约时报杂志VogueTown & CountryArchitectural DigestNew York杂志及其它出版物撰稿并担任编辑。

Yurman连续性

作者:William Norwich

有许多因素让Yurman珠宝成为出色的艺术品。“创造力”将位列榜首,接下来是“经典”......经典与创造力这两个词通常不大会一起使用。当然,对于David Yurman的cable扭纹设计,它们定义了他的灵感。

在将近四十年的时间里,cable扭纹连接起一个艺术作品机体。在每一个David Yurman系列中,cable扭纹都有着创新和美观的体现方式 - 与顺滑抛光金属表面的鲜明对比,或者将其圆柱形状压平,让扭纹变成一种浮雕、一次透视实验。Cable扭纹被用作特征、珠子、镶嵌、扣环,还曾雕琢于宝石之上。

作为一个微妙的特征,它通常出现在只有佩戴者能看到的戒指内侧或者吊坠的背面。David将cable扭纹转化为扭结,意指cable与绳索的联系。或者他会将其雕刻成一个编织图案,作为对航海绳索的解读。当David将金和银混合时,金属的惊艳组合通过cable扭纹结合起来。椭圆扣环链代表cable扭纹是贯穿所有设计的主题,是连接的象征。
...


 

作者简介:

W I L L I A M N O R W I C H
曾经为《纽约时报杂志》、《Vogue》、《Town & Country》、《Architectural Digest》、《New York》杂志及其它出版物撰稿并担任编辑。

 

布鲁克林大桥的照片。

John Augustus Roebling(1806 - 1869年)令人瞩目的职业生涯开始于钢丝绳的开发和吊桥的设计,包括布鲁克林大桥。

John Augustus Roebling(1806 - 1869年)令人瞩目的职业生涯开始于钢丝绳的开发和吊桥的设计,包括布鲁克林大桥。

魅力

作者:Carine Roitfeld

时尚是一个梦。每天早晨您精心打扮,让自己更加优雅迷人。如果某件饰品备受夸赞,首先是因为它的美丽和梦幻。
 

对于Yurman夫妇来说,制作珠宝是要创造一种感觉。它不仅仅是白银和黄金。他们想要传递照片中的那种情感联系......珠宝不同于时尚,因为它有着很长的寿命,而这一永恒的信息要在一张照片中表达。
 

许多人受到David的启发。他开始是为[他的妻子]Sybil制作佩戴的雕塑。他们共同发现了cable扭纹的美,于是他并为她打造了一只手镯。通过将现代风格融入古典珠宝,建立与cable扭纹的联系,效果惊艳 - 从来没有人这样做过。
...
 


 

作者简介:
 

C A R I N E R O I T F E L D 是造型师兼CR Fashion Book创始人。

魅力

作者:Carine Roitfeld

时尚是一个梦。每天早晨您精心打扮,让自己更加优雅迷人。如果某件饰品备受夸赞,首先是因为它的美丽和梦幻。
 

对于Yurman夫妇来说,制作珠宝是要创造一种感觉。它不仅仅是白银和黄金。他们想要传递照片中的那种情感联系......珠宝不同于时尚,因为它有着很长的寿命,而这一永恒的信息要在一张照片中表达。
 

许多人受到David的启发。他开始是为[他的妻子]Sybil制作佩戴的雕塑。他们共同发现了cable扭纹的美,于是他并为她打造了一只手镯。通过将现代风格融入古典珠宝,建立与cable扭纹的联系,效果惊艳 - 从来没有人这样做过。
...



 

作者简介:
 

C A R I N E R O I T F E L D 是造型师兼CR Fashion Book创始人。

我喜欢cable扭纹的一切。我感觉
完全放松,融入于这种形式。我
知道它能做什么,以及我能用它
做什么。未来就在它引导我去的任何地方。

我喜欢cable扭纹的一切。我感觉完全放松,融入于这种形式。我知道它能做什么,以及我能用它做什么。未来就在它引导我去的任何地方。

探索
Cable系列

探索彰显David Yurman
艺术特色的设计。

替换文字

探索
Cable系列

探索彰显David Yurman
艺术特色的设计。

Skip to main content
David Yurman chain necklaces in sterling silver Cable links and smooth gold links against a stone backdrop.

A   B O O K   F O R   C O L L E C T O R S

David Yurman Cable

A   B O O K   F O R   C O L L E C T O R S

David Yurman Cable

Alt Text

Selected passages from the authors.

Selected passages from the authors.

The Cable Revolution and Evolution

by Paul Greenhalgh

As a primary form, cable is found in the natural world and in the arts; as such it belongs to a universal family of shapes across world cultures…These sculptural forms run through the whole of human experience.
 

Long before humans, plants made cable, and by example taught us how to do so. Throughout history, cable is linked with communication and connection. Archeological evidence from diverse areas indicates cable was originally developed as a technology for giving strength to materials by twisting natural fibers together…Through nature, technology, and art, cable connects the full range of human experience.
 

In unlocking a connection with the creativity of the past, the cable motif allowed the Yurmans to inhabit a world derived from an ancestral family of design.
 

David Yurman, well before he formalized a career as a sculptor and jeweler, prophetically encountered the meaning of cable in nature. He recounts a story about his youth: “Occasionally, I made the rebellious decision to play hooky and visit a wooded area with beautiful trees encircled with enormous hanging vines, so strong you could swing on them. It was a visceral connection with a natural form.”
...



 

About the author:

P A U L   G R E E N H A L G H 
is the director of the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts at the University of East Anglia, in Norwich, U.K., and the former director and president of the Corcoran Gallery of Art and Corcoran College of Art and Design in Washington, D.C.

The Cable Revolution
and Evolution

by Paul Greenhalgh

As a primary form, cable is found in the natural world and in the arts; as such it belongs to a universal family of shapes across world cultures…These sculptural forms run through the whole of human experience.

Long before humans, plants made cable, and by example taught us how to do so. Throughout history, cable is linked with communication and connection. Archeological evidence from diverse areas indicates cable was originally developed as a technology for giving strength to materials by twisting natural fibers together…Through nature, technology, and art, cable connects the full range of human experience.

In unlocking a connection with the creativity of the past, the cable motif allowed the Yurmans to inhabit a world derived from an ancestral family of design.

David Yurman, well before he formalized a career as a sculptor and jeweler, prophetically encountered the meaning of cable in nature. He recounts a story about his youth: “Occasionally, I made the rebellious decision to play hooky and visit a wooded area with beautiful trees encircled with enormous hanging vines, so strong you could swing on them. It was a visceral connection with a natural form.”
... 
 

 

About the author: 

P A U L   G R E E N H A L G H 
is the director of the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts at the University of East Anglia, in Norwich, U.K., and the former director and president of the Corcoran Gallery of Art and Corcoran College of Art and Design in Washington, D.C.

We became fascinated with forms from
the ancient world when we first developed
cable, continuing in the classical tradition.
In this way, the modern and ancient worlds
intersected—the ingenuity of the two
twisting into each other.

We became fascinated with forms from the ancient world when we first developed cable, continuing in the classical tradition. In this way, the modern and ancient worlds intersected—the ingenuity of the two twisting into each other.

A limestone monument of Aththaia, daughter of Malchos, wearing a cable necklace and a pair of matching bracelets. 2nd century A.D., Syria. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

A limestone monument of Aththaia, daughter of Malchos,
wearing a cable necklace and a pair of matching bracelets.
2nd century A.D., Syria. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

A limestone monument of Aththaia, daughter of Malchos,wearing a cable necklace and a pair of matching bracelets. 2nd century A.D., Syria. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

The Yurman Continuum

by William Norwich

There are many things that make Yurman jewelry exceptional works of art. “Inventiveness” would be at the top of the list and “classic” next...Classic and innovation are words not usually used together. Certainly, pertaining to David Yurman cable designs, they define his inspiration.
 

Over the course of nearly forty years, cable unites an artistic body of work. Throughout every David Yurman collection, cable is used in innovative and beautiful ways—as a contrast to smooth polished metal or by flattening its cylindrical shape so the cable becomes a relief and an experiment in perspective. Cable is used as an accent, a bead, a setting, a clasp, and carved in stone.
 

As a subtle signature, it often appears on the inside of a ring or back of a pendant where only the wearer will see it. David transforms cable into knots, referencing cable’s connection to rope. Or, he will sculpt it into a woven motif to interpret nautical rope. When David mixes gold and silver, the striking combination of metals is united by cable. Oval link chains signify that cable is a motif that runs through all the designs and is the symbol of connectivity.
...


 

 

About the author:
  

W I L L I A M   N O R W I C H has written and edited for The New York Times MagazineVogueTown & CountryArchitectural Digest and New York magazine among other publications.

The Yurman Continuum

by William Norwich

There are many things that make Yurman jewelry exceptional works of art. “Inventiveness” would be at the top of the list and “classic” next...Classic and innovation are words not usually used together. Certainly, pertaining to David Yurman cable designs, they define his inspiration.

Over the course of nearly forty years, cable unites an artistic body of work. Throughout every David Yurman collection, cable is used in innovative and beautiful ways—as a contrast to smooth polished metal or by flattening its cylindrical shape so the cable becomes a relief and an experiment in perspective. Cable is used as an accent, a bead, a setting, a clasp, and carved in stone.

As a subtle signature, it often appears on the inside of a ring or back of a pendant where only the wearer will see it. David transforms cable into knots, referencing cable’s connection to rope. Or, he will sculpt it into a woven motif to interpret nautical rope. When David mixes gold and silver, the striking combination of metals is united by cable. Oval link chains signify that cable is a motif that runs through all the designs and is the symbol of connectivity.
...


 

About the author:

W I L L I A M   N O R W I C H
 has written and edited for The New York Times Magazine, Vogue, Town & Country, Architectural Digest and New York magazine among other publications.

 

A photo of the Brooklyn Bridge.

John Augustus Roebling’s (1806−1869) distinguished career began with the development of wire rope, and the design of suspension bridges, including the Brooklyn Bridge.

John Augustus Roebling’s (1806−1869) distinguished career began with the development of wire rope, and the design of suspension bridges, including the Brooklyn Bridge.

Glamour

by Carine Roitfeld

Fashion is a dream. Each morning you dress to become a different woman. If something is a big success, it’s because of its beauty and reverie first.
 

To the Yurmans, creating jewelry is to make a feeling. It’s not just silver and gold. They want to communicate that emotional connection in the photographs…Jewelry is different than fashion, since it has longevity and this timeless message should come across in a photograph.
 

Many people are inspired by what David does. He began by making sculpture to wear for [his wife] Sybil. Together, they discovered the beauty of cable and he made a bracelet for her. To connect with cable in this way, with classical jewelry that he made contemporary, is fantastic—no one had done this before.
...
 


 

About the author:
 

C A R I N E   R O I T F E L D  is a stylist and founder of CR Fashion Book.

Glamour

by Carine Roitfeld

Fashion is a dream. Each morning you dress to become a different woman. If something is a big success, it’s because of its beauty and reverie first.
 

To the Yurmans, creating jewelry is to make a feeling. It’s not just silver and gold. They want to communicate that emotional connection in the photographs…Jewelry is different than fashion, since it has longevity and this timeless message should come across in a photograph.
 

Many people are inspired by what David does. He began by making sculpture to wear for [his wife] Sybil. Together, they discovered the beauty of cable and he made a bracelet for her. To connect with cable in this way, with classical jewelry that he made contemporary, is fantastic—no one had done this before.
...



 

About the author:
 

C A R I N E   R O I T F E L D  is a stylist and founder of CR Fashion Book.

There’s nothing I don’t like about Cable. I feel
totally at home and embraced by the form. I
know what it can do and what I can do with
it. The future is wherever it takes me.

There’s nothing I don’t like about Cable. I feeltotally at home and embraced by the form. I know what it can do and what I can do withit. The future is wherever it takes me.

Discover the
Cable Collection

Explore designs featuring David Yurman’s
artistic signature. 

Alt Text

Discover the
Cable Collection

Explore designs featuring David Yurman’s
artistic signature.