跳转至主要内容

我们表达

爱意的方式

______________________

我们表达

爱意的方式

____________

出自心底

从一开始,David和Sybil Yurman就经常通过自己的艺术来表达对对方的感情。这些用时间、精力和感情打造的礼物,传递了语言无法表达的内容,并成为定义和加深他们之间关系的象征。毕竟,是David为Sybil雕刻的一条青铜项链吸引了一位画廊老板的目光,随着它的售出,开始了我们今天所知的这家公司。

采用实体的方式表达“我爱你”,它的内涵比口头上说出来要丰富得多。我们以有形的方式表达心中的感受 - 比如下厨准备一顿特别的晚餐或者选择一件有意义的珠宝首饰 - 通过这种既普遍但又非常个人化的体验建立联系。每种文化都有传达情感的独特方式,在这个情人节期间,我们与您分享一些我们的最爱。

出自心底

从一开始,David和Sybil Yurman就经常通过自己的艺术来表达对对方的感情。这些用时间、精力和感情打造的礼物,传递了语言无法表达的内容,并成为定义和加深他们之间关系的象征。毕竟,是David为Sybil雕刻的一条青铜项链吸引了一位画廊老板的目光,随着它的售出,开始了我们今天所知的这家公司。

采用实体的方式表达“我爱你”,它的内涵比口头上说出来要丰富得多。我们以有形的方式表达心中的感受 - 比如下厨准备一顿特别的晚餐或者选择一件有意义的珠宝首饰 - 通过这种既普遍但又非常个人化的体验建立联系。每种文化都有传达情感的独特方式,在这个情人节期间,我们与您分享一些我们的最爱。

在这个情人节,我们庆祝
世界各地的人们数不胜数的
表达感情的方式。

在这个情人节,我们庆祝世界各地的人们数不胜数的表达感情的方式。

_____________________

爱的劳作

在日本,人们不习惯公开表达爱意,所以在那里,彼此照应通常是表示“我爱你”的最佳方式。男人经常会提着伴侣的包袋,而女人则常常为爱人烹调精致的午餐,叫做便当

__________

爱的劳作

在日本,人们不习惯公开表达爱意,所以在那里,彼此照应通常是表示“我爱你”的最佳方式。男人经常会提着伴侣的包袋,而女人则常常为爱人烹调精致的午餐,叫做便当

日复一日

对于斯堪的纳维亚的男子,烹饪、清洁和照顾孩子是爱情的日常表达 - 性别之间的平等,让每个人都感到快乐。

日复一日

对于斯堪的纳维亚的男子,烹饪、清洁和照顾孩子是爱情的日常表达 - 性别之间的平等,让每个人都感到快乐。

满勺的甜蜜

每年的1月25日,威尔士人都会在情人节季节捷足先登,庆祝Saint Dwynwen节 - 恋人们的守护神。遵循一项可以追溯到17世纪的流行习俗,男人会向心爱的人送上一把木勺,上面雕刻有表达心意的图案,如马蹄铁(表示好运)或者轮子(表示支持)。现在,这种精心制作的餐具也用来纪念周年和出生等其他的特别时刻,表达着同样的信息:Rwy'n dy garu di(威尔士语“我爱你”)。

满勺的甜蜜

每年的1月25日,威尔士人都会在情人节季节捷足先登,庆祝Saint Dwynwen节 - 恋人们的守护神。遵循一项可以追溯到17世纪的流行习俗,男人会向心爱的人送上一把木勺,上面雕刻有表达心意的图案,如马蹄铁(表示好运)或者轮子(表示支持)。现在,这种精心制作的餐具也用来纪念周年和出生等其他的特别时刻,表达着同样的信息:Rwy'n dy garu di(威尔士语“我爱你”)。

你心中的另一半

在许多亚洲国家,情人节只是两个庆祝浪漫关系的重要节日中的第一个。在2月14日这天,女性是主角,她们为心仪的男子送上巧克力表达爱意。一个月后的3月14日 - 又叫作白色情人节 - 男人会回赠礼物,通常是白巧克力、彩色糖果和珠宝首饰。对那些没有人分享这些假期的单身人士,韩国人更进一步,创立了黑色情人节。4月14日这天,单身人士会与其他的单身朋友们一起享用安慰食物炸酱面(黑豆酱面条)。

你心中的另一半

在许多亚洲国家,情人节只是两个庆祝浪漫关系的重要节日中的第一个。在2月14日这天,女性是主角,她们为心仪的男子送上巧克力表达爱意。一个月后的3月14日 - 又叫作白色情人节 - 男人会回赠礼物,通常是白巧克力、彩色糖果和珠宝首饰。对那些没有人分享这些假期的单身人士,韩国人更进一步,创立了黑色情人节。4月14日这天,单身人士会与其他的单身朋友们一起享用安慰食物炸酱面(黑豆酱面条)。

艺术作品

对于南非的祖鲁人,错综复杂的珠饰设计就是他们的情书。使用由各种彩色珠子制成的三角形图案,祖鲁族妇女创造了这些感情符号,传达特定的情感。每种珠子的颜色和组合都有自己的意义:黑色代表婚姻,黄色代表生育,粉色代表承诺,等等。

艺术作品

对于南非的祖鲁人,错综复杂的珠饰设计就是他们的情书。使用由各种彩色珠子制成的三角形图案,祖鲁族妇女创造了这些感情符号,传达特定的情感。每种珠子的颜色和组合都有自己的意义:黑色代表婚姻,黄色代表生育,粉色代表承诺,等等。

身穿多彩服装的祖鲁族妇女坐在石头街道上制作精细的串珠作品的照片。

上图
祖鲁族珠饰作品具有浓郁的艺术气息和丰富的寓意。这里,一位祖鲁族妇女正在制作精细的珠饰作品。
 

右图
祖鲁人的“情书”,南非最大的种族群体的一种文化传统。

祖鲁族珠饰作品具有浓郁的艺术气息和丰富的寓意。 这里,
一位祖鲁族妇女正在制作精细的珠饰作品。

一封祖鲁人的“情书”,由白色、绿色、黄色和海军蓝珠子制作,放在暗色表面。

祖鲁人的“情书”,南非最大的种族群体的一种文化传统。

附:我爱你

丹麦最独特的爱意礼物之一是有趣的爱情诗或者是称为gaekkebrev的便签,“幽默信”写在精心折叠和切割、呈雪花形的纸片上。这些信里常常夹着白色的“雪花莲”花朵,只用圆点图案签名,送信人的名字有几个字母,就有几个圆点。根据传统,如果收信人能正确地猜出自己的崇拜者是谁,就会在晚些时候回赠他们复活节的彩蛋。

附:我爱你

丹麦最独特的爱意礼物之一是有趣的爱情诗或者是称为gaekkebrev的便签,“幽默信”写在精心折叠和切割、呈雪花形的纸片上。这些信里常常夹着白色的“雪花莲”花朵,只用圆点图案签名,送信人的名字有几个字母,就有几个圆点。根据传统,如果收信人能正确地猜出自己的崇拜者是谁,就会在晚些时候回赠他们复活节的彩蛋。

爱你的邻居

在墨西哥,2月14日称为El Dia del Amor y Amistad - 爱与友谊之日 - 墨西哥人不仅庆祝生活中最重要的人之间的爱,也庆祝与朋友和社区之间的感情。在这一天,许多人通过交换气球、糖果和家制甜食等礼物来表达感情。

爱你的邻居

在墨西哥,2月14日称为El Dia del Amor y Amistad - 爱与友谊之日 - 墨西哥人不仅庆祝生活中最重要的人之间的爱,也庆祝与朋友和社区之间的感情。在这一天,许多人通过交换气球、糖果和家制甜食等礼物来表达感情。

盛开的爱

虽然一打红玫瑰在西方国家可能被认为是浪漫的礼物,但在俄罗斯恐怕会有些麻烦,因为在那里,偶数的花朵只用于表达悲伤和布置葬礼。

盛开的爱

虽然一打红玫瑰在西方国家可能被认为是浪漫的礼物,但在俄罗斯恐怕会有些麻烦,因为在那里,偶数的花朵只用于表达悲伤和布置葬礼。

Skip to main content

THE WAYS WE SAY

“I Love You”

______________________

THE WAYS WE SAY

“I Love You”

____________

From the Heart

Since the very beginning, David and Sybil Yurman often expressed their feelings for one another by creating art. Crafted with time, effort and emotion, these gifts said more than words ever could and became symbols that defined—and deepened—their relationship. After all, it was a bronze necklace David sculpted for Sybil that caught the eye of a gallery owner and, with its sale, started the company we know today.

“I love you” speaks volumes when it’s shown, not just said. We declare what’s in our hearts in tangible ways—like cooking a special meal or selecting a meaningful piece of jewelry—and are connected by this experience that’s at once both universal and personal. Each culture has a unique way of conveying affection, and in the spirit of Valentine’s Day, we’re sharing some of our favorites with you.

From the Heart

Since the very beginning, David and Sybil Yurman often expressed their feelings for one another by creating art. Crafted with time, effort and emotion, these gifts said more than words ever could and became symbols that defined—and deepened—their relationship. After all, it was a bronze necklace David sculpted for Sybil that caught the eye of a gallery owner and, with its sale, started the company we know today.

“I love you” speaks volumes when it’s shown, not just said. We declare what’s in our hearts in tangible ways—like cooking a special meal or selecting a meaningful piece of jewelry—and are connected by this experience that’s at once both universal and personal. Each culture has a unique way of conveying affection, and in the spirit of Valentine’s Day, we’re sharing some of our favorites with you.

This Valentine’s Day, we celebrate the
myriad ways in which people around the
world express their affection.

This Valentine’s Day, we celebrate the myriad ways in which people around the world express their affection.

_____________________

Labor of Love

Public displays of affection are frowned upon in Japan, so taking care of one another is usually the best way to say “I love you” there. Men often carry their partner’s bags, and women frequently make their lovers an elaborate lunch known as bento.

__________

Labor of Love

Public displays of affection are frowned upon in Japan, so taking care of one another is usually the best way to say “I love you” there. Men often carry their partner’s bags, and women frequently make their lovers an elaborate lunch known as bento.

With Each Passing Day

For Scandinavian men, cooking, cleaning and childcare are everyday expressions of love—an egalitarian approach towards gender roles that makes everyone happy.

With Each Passing Day

For Scandinavian men, cooking, cleaning and childcare are everyday expressions of love—an egalitarian approach towards gender roles that makes everyone happy.

Spoonful of Sugar

Each year on January 25, the Welsh get a head start on Valentine’s Day with their celebration of Saint Dwynwen, the patron saint of lovers. In a popular custom dating back to the 17th century, men traditionally present their beloved with a wooden spoon carved with meaningful motifs such as a horseshoe (for good luck) or wheels (signifying support). Today, the intricate utensils mark other moments like anniversaries and births, expressing the same message: Rwy’n dy garu di (Welsh for “I love you”).

Spoonful of Sugar

Each year on January 25, the Welsh get a head start on Valentine’s Day with their celebration of Saint Dwynwen, the patron saint of lovers. In a popular custom dating back to the 17th century, men traditionally present their beloved with a wooden spoon carved with meaningful motifs such as a horseshoe (for good luck) or wheels (signifying support). Today, the intricate utensils mark other moments like anniversaries and births, expressing the same message: Rwy’n dy garu di (Welsh for “I love you”).

Your Better Half

In many Asian countries, Valentine’s Day is just the first of two major holidays celebrating romantic relationships. On February 14, the focus is on women, who give men chocolate to show their affection. One month later, on March 14—known as White Day—men return the gesture with gifts of white chocolate, colorful candies and jewelry. And for those with no one to share these holidays, South Korea takes it one step further with Black Day, observed on April 14 by lone individuals who consume the comfort food jiajangmyeon (black bean-paste noodles) with other single friends.

Your Better Half

In many Asian countries, Valentine’s Day is just the first of two major holidays celebrating romantic relationships. On February 14, the focus is on women, who give men chocolate to show their affection. One month later, on March 14—known as White Day—men return the gesture with gifts of white chocolate, colorful candies and jewelry. And for those with no one to share these holidays, South Korea takes it one step further with Black Day, observed on April 14 by lone individuals who consume the comfort food jiajangmyeon (black bean-paste noodles) with other single friends.

Craft Work

For the Zulu people of South Africa, intricate beadwork designs serve as love letters. Using patterns of triangles crafted from various colored beads, Zulu women create these symbols of affection to communicate specific sentiments. Each bead color and combination convey their own meaning: black signifies marriage, yellow portrays fertility, pink represents promise, and so on.

Craft Work

For the Zulu people of South Africa, intricate beadwork designs serve as love letters. Using patterns of triangles crafted from various colored beads, Zulu women create these symbols of affection to communicate specific sentiments. Each bead color and combination convey their own meaning: black signifies marriage, yellow portrays fertility, pink represents promise, and so on.

An image of a Zulu woman wearing a colorful garment while sitting on a stone street and creating an intricately beaded object.

A B O V E
Zulu beadwork is rich in artistry and meaning. Here, a Zulu woman creates an intricately beaded object.
 

R I G H T
The Zulu “love letter,” a cultural tradition of South Africa’s largest ethnic group.

Zulu beadwork is rich in artistry and meaning. Here,
a Zulu woman creates an intricately beaded object.

A Zulu love letter, created from white, green, yellow and navy beads, laying across a dark surface.

The Zulu “love letter,” a cultural tradition of South Africa’s largest ethnic group.

P.S. I Love You

One of Denmark’s most unique expressions of love is the funny poem or note called gaekkebrev, “joke letters” written on carefully folded and cut pieces of paper that resemble snowflakes. White flowers called “snowdrops” often accompany the letters, signed only with dots—one for each letter in the sender’s name. According to tradition, if the recipient can correctly guess the identity of their admirer, they are rewarded with an Easter egg later in the year.

P.S. I Love You

One of Denmark’s most unique expressions of love is the funny poem or note called gaekkebrev, “joke letters” written on carefully folded and cut pieces of paper that resemble snowflakes. White flowers called “snowdrops” often accompany the letters, signed only with dots—one for each letter in the sender’s name. According to tradition, if the recipient can correctly guess the identity of their admirer, they are rewarded with an Easter egg later in the year.

Love Thy Neighbor

In Mexico, February 14 is known as El Dia del Amor y Amistad—the Day of Love and Friendship—when Mexicans celebrate love not only for their significant others, but also for friends and the community. On this day, many people express their affection by exchanging gifts of balloons, candy and home-baked sweets.

Love Thy Neighbor

In Mexico, February 14 is known as El Dia del Amor y Amistad—the Day of Love and Friendship—when Mexicans celebrate love not only for their significant others, but also for friends and the community. On this day, many people express their affection by exchanging gifts of balloons, candy and home-baked sweets.

Love in Full Bloom

While a dozen red roses may be considered a romantic gift in Western countries, the gesture won’t go over so well in Russia, where even numbers of flowers are reserved for grieving and funerals.

Love in Full Bloom

While a dozen red roses may be considered a romantic gift in Western countries, the gesture won’t go over so well in Russia, where even numbers of flowers are reserved for grieving and funerals.