跳转至主要内容

洞见的艺术

我们新发布的秋季广告宣传采用了奥地利裔美国Ernst Haas
标新立异的摄影作品,他的作品让我们睁开双眼
也能步入梦想的世界——我们
对艺术、设计和生活的共同愿景

洞见的艺术

我们新发布的秋季广告宣传采用了
奥地利裔美国Ernst Haas
标新立异的摄影作品,他的作品让我们睁开双眼
也能步入梦想的世界——我们
对艺术、设计和生活的共同愿景

作为一家崇尚创意力量的公司,我们认为Ernst Haas与我们志同道合——他是一位梦想家和叛逆者,力求突破工艺的极限。作为20世纪最具影响力的摄影师之一,他开创性地运用彩色胶片,当时,黑白胶片被视为一种严肃的自我表达形式,而彩色胶片被视为不如黑白胶片。Haas通常被称作“摄影诗人”,他通过创新运用较慢的快门速度,为他的许多摄影作品赋予了动感。

作为一家崇尚创意力量的公司,
我们认为Ernst Haas与我们志同道合——他是一位梦想家
和叛逆者,力求突破工艺的极限。
作为20
世纪最具影响力的摄影师之一,他开创性地运用彩色胶片,当时,
黑白胶片被视为一种严肃的自我表达
形式,而彩色胶片被视为不如黑白胶片。Haas通常被称作
“摄影诗人”,他通过创新
运用较慢的快门速度,为他的许多摄影作品
赋予了动感。

在表达眼见带来的
纯粹快乐方面,没有摄影师比他
做得更成功。

— J O H N  S Z A R K O W S K I

原现代艺术博物馆摄影总监

在表达
眼见带来的
纯粹快乐方面,没有摄影师比他
做得更成功。
 

— J O H N  S Z A R K O W S K I

现代艺术博物馆
原摄影总监

一幅黑白照片,展现摄影师Ernst Haas手持摄影器材,面向城市风光。

1955年Ernst Haas手持设想模拟装置。 © Elliott Erwitt/Magnum Photos

1955年Ernst Haas手持设想模拟装置。 © Elliott Erwitt/Magnum Photos

战后

在1946年的25岁生日时,Haas在黑市上用一块22磅的人造黄油块换来了自己的第一台摄像机,并开始记录二战后自己家乡维也纳的战后景象。在三年后的1949年,他的摄影作品首次登上HeuteLife杂志。一幅黑白照片,展现奥地利战犯回家的景象,其具有鲜明的现实主义和情感深度,Robert Capa(被视为全世界最出色的战争摄影师之一)邀请这位原本学医的28岁学生加入Magnum、Capa赫尔Henri Cartier-Bresson在巴黎的摄影团体。与此同时,Life杂志为Haas提供了一份摄影人员的工作,但众所周知,他拒绝了这一邀约,并在给编辑Wilson Hicks的信中写道,他希望“保持自由,以便忠于自己的想法。”

战后

在1946年的25岁生日时,Haas在黑市上用一块22磅的人造黄油块换来了自己的第一台摄像机,并开始记录二战后自己家乡维也纳的战后景象。在三年后的1949年,他的摄影作品首次登上HeuteLife杂志。一幅黑白照片,展现奥地利战犯回家的景象,其具有鲜明的现实主义和情感深度,Robert Capa(被视为全世界最出色的战争摄影师之一)邀请这位原本学医的28岁学生加入Magnum、Capa赫尔Henri Cartier-Bresson在巴黎的摄影团体。与此同时,Life杂志为Haas提供了一份摄影人员的工作,但众所周知,他拒绝了这一邀约,并在给编辑Wilson Hicks的信中写道,他希望“保持自由,以便忠于自己的想法。”

神奇之都

1950年,Haas离开经历战争后满目疮痍的欧洲来到纽约。这座城市永不停歇的脚步以及绚丽多姿的色彩令他着迷不已,这推动Haas不断尝试并从新的角度看待事物。接受过绘画训练之后,他开始尝试运用不同的材料和方法,尤其是彩色胶片、抽象与构图。他的照片很快作为Life杂志首篇全彩摄影音画“神奇之都的景象”发布,这是32岁的Haas一个突破性成就。通过他的镜头,摩天大楼在光线与动感之下仿佛拥有了生命,将彩色摄影转变为一种真正的艺术。

神奇之都

1950年,Haas离开经历战争后满目疮痍的欧洲来到纽约。这座城市永不停歇的脚步以及绚丽多姿的色彩令他着迷不已,这推动Haas不断尝试并从新的角度看待事物。接受过绘画训练之后,他开始尝试运用不同的材料和方法,尤其是彩色胶片、抽象与构图。他的照片很快作为Life杂志首篇全彩摄影音画“神奇之都的景象”发布,这是32岁的Haas一个突破性成就。通过他的镜头,摩天大楼在光线与动感之下仿佛拥有了生命,将彩色摄影转变为一种真正的艺术。

Ernst的两幅彩色照片并列放置。左:一张纽约市办公楼的照片,窗户上反射出另一幢建筑的景象。右:一张运用抽象手法展现纽约市上空的灯光反射与云朵的照片。克莱斯勒大厦的一张照片,曼哈顿中城区与四个长矩形并列,曼哈顿金色和蓝色的天空中漂浮着白色的云朵。

色彩带来快乐。

— E R N S T  H A A S

色彩带来快乐。

— E R N S T  H A A S

Ernst Haas在《Life》杂志发表的“神奇之都的景象”的两张中心跨页并排放置,展现出反射另一幢纽约市建筑和彩色公告牌的玻璃窗

Ernst Haas“神奇之都的景象”跨越了Life杂志的两期,
而且是该刊物的首篇全彩摄影音画。

Ernst Haas“神奇之都的景象”跨越了Life杂志的两期,
而且是该刊物的首篇全彩摄影音画。

从纽约现代艺术博物馆到万宝路男人

Life的作品大获成功之后,Haas继续开辟新的道路,成为首位在斗牛和牛仔竞技照片中故意运用模糊效果的摄影师。“显而易见的现实令人乏味,我对于将其转变为一种主观的观点深感着迷,”Haas在1961年写道。照片“不言自明”,他在解释自己的开创性方法时表示——“更少描述,更多创意……更少单调,更多诗意。” 1962年,他邀请参观者在“眼见的艺术”中“张开双眼”做梦,这是一个他为NYC公共电视台协作和主持的四部分系列。同年,纽约现代艺术博物馆举办了其史上首个彩色摄影展——对Haas作品的十年回顾展。

从纽约现代艺术博物馆到万宝路男人

Life的作品大获成功之后,Haas继续开辟新的道路,成为首位在斗牛和牛仔竞技照片中故意运用模糊效果的摄影师。“显而易见的现实令人乏味,我对于将其转变为一种主观的观点深感着迷,”Haas在1961年写道。照片“不言自明”,他在解释自己的开创性方法时表示——“更少描述,更多创意……更少单调,更多诗意。” 1962年,他邀请参观者在“眼见的艺术”中“张开双眼”做梦,这是一个他为NYC公共电视台协作和主持的四部分系列。同年,纽约现代艺术博物馆举办了其史上首个彩色摄影展——对Haas作品的十年回顾展。

我希望人们能记住我的总体愿景,
而不是简单几张照片。

— E R N S T  H A A S

我希望人们能
记住我的总体愿景,
而不是简单几张照片。

— E R N S T  H A A S

Haas看待世界的独特方法产生的影响不仅局限于摄影新闻。在1986年去世之前,Haas拍摄了纽约市舞台上充满活力的芭蕾舞者以及主要电影,并在West Side Story、The MisfitsThe Third Man等电影摄影场开展拍摄工作。他还参与了标志性的麦迪逊大道广告宣传片拍摄,例如第一个万宝路男人牛仔。

Haas看待世界的独特方法产生的影响不仅局限于摄影新闻。在1986年去世之前,Haas拍摄了纽约市舞台上充满活力的芭蕾舞者以及主要电影,并在West Side Story、The MisfitsThe Third Man等电影摄影场开展拍摄工作。他还参与了标志性的麦迪逊大道广告宣传片拍摄,例如第一个万宝路男人牛仔。

我们的秋季广告宣传

以他一直以来的创新和创意传统为灵感,David Yurman与Estate of Ernst Haas开展合作打造了2019年秋季广告宣传片。本季的宣传片将我们的首饰与Haas对纽约市拍摄的照片并列,凸显出他们别出心裁、彼此交织的艺术传承,同时体现出这座城市充满活力的心灵、灵魂和脉搏。

我们的秋季广告宣传

以他一直以来的创新和创意传统为灵感,David Yurman与Estate of Ernst Haas开展合作打造了2019年秋季广告宣传片。本季的宣传片将我们的首饰与Haas对纽约市拍摄的照片并列,凸显出他们别出心裁、彼此交织的艺术传承,同时体现出这座城市充满活力的心灵、灵魂和脉搏。

这是一种自由精神,不受
传统和理论的约束,并在摄影中
发现了无与伦比的美感。

- E D W A R D S T E I C H E N,摄影师

这是一种自由精神,不受
传统和理论的约束,并在摄影中
发现了
无与伦比的美感。

- E D W A R D S T E I C H E N,摄影师

现在进驻苏荷区

8月15日至11月1日,在我们的苏荷精品店体验
Haas开创性的艺术愿景

现在进驻苏荷区

8月15日至11月1日,
在我们的苏荷精品店
体验Haas开创性的艺术愿景

Skip to main content

The Art of Seeing 

Featured in our Fall 2019 campaign, the revolutionary
images of Austrian-American photographer Ernst
Haas invite us to dream with our eyes open—a vision
we share in art, design and life.

The Art of Seeing

Featured in our Fall 2019 campaign, the
revolutionary images of Austrian-American
photographer Ernst Haas invite us to dream
with our eyes open—a vision we share in
art, design and life.

As a company that harnesses the power of creativity, we consider Ernst Haas a kindred spirit—a dreamer and renegade who pushed the boundaries of his craft. One of the most influential photographers of the 20th century, he pioneered the use of color film at a time when it was considered inferior to black and white as a medium for serious self-expression. Often called the “poet of photography,” Haas was innovative in his use of slow shutter speeds, giving many of his pictures the illusion of movement.  

As a company that harnesses the power of creativity,
we consider Ernst Haas a kindred spirit—a dreamer
and renegade who pushed the boundaries of his craft.
One of the most influential photographers of the 20th
century, he pioneered the use of color film at a time
when it was considered inferior to black and white as
a medium for serious self-expression. Often called
the “poet of photography,” Haas was innovative in his
use of slow shutter speeds, giving many of his
pictures the illusion of movement.  

No photographer has worked
more successfully to express the
sheer physical joy of seeing. 

— J O H N  S Z A R K O W S K I

Former Director of Photography, Museum of Modern Art

No photographer has
worked more successfully
to express the sheer
physical joy of seeing.
 

— J O H N  S Z A R K O W S K I

Former Director of Photography,
Museum of Modern Art

A black-and-white image shows photographer Ernst Haas holding a camera instrument in his hands in front of his face in front of a cityscape.

Ernst Haas holding a camera lens simulator in 1955. © Elliott Erwitt/Magnum Photos

Ernst Haas holding a camera lens simulator in 1955. © Elliott Erwitt/Magnum Photos

After the War  

On his 25th birthday in 1946, Haas bartered on the black market a 22-pound block of margarine for his first camera and began documenting the aftermath of WWII in Vienna, his birthplace. Three years later in 1949, his first magazine feature debuted in Heute and Life. The black-and-white images captured the homecoming of Austrian prisoners of war with such stark realism and emotional depth that Robert Capa—considered one of the world’s greatest war photographers—invited the 28-year-old former medical student to join Magnum, Capa and Henri Cartier-Bresson’s photography collective in Paris. At the same time, Life magazine offered Haas a role as staff photographer, but he famously declined, writing to editor Wilson Hicks that he wanted to “stay free, so I can carry out my ideas.”       

After the War 

On his 25th birthday in 1946, Haas bartered on the black market a 22-pound block of margarine for his first camera and began documenting the aftermath of WWII in Vienna, his birthplace. Three years later in 1949, his first magazine feature debuted in Heute and Life. The black-and-white images captured the homecoming of Austrian prisoners of war with such stark realism and emotional depth that Robert Capa—considered one of the world’s greatest war photographers—invited the 28-year-old former medical student to join Magnum, Capa and Henri Cartier-Bresson’s photography collective in Paris. At the same time, Life magazine offered Haas a role as staff photographer, but he famously declined, writing to editor Wilson Hicks that he wanted to “stay free, so I can carry out my ideas.”       

Magic City 

In 1950, Haas left a war-scarred Europe for New York. The city’s nonstop pace and vibrant palette captivated him, driving Haas to experiment and see things anew. Trained as a painter, he began to experiment with materials and methods, especially color film, abstraction and composition. His pictures were soon published as “Images of a Magic City,” Life magazine’s first full-color photo essay, a groundbreaking achievement for the 32-year-old Haas. Through his lens, skyscrapers came alive with light and movement, transforming color photography into true art. 

Magic City 

In 1950, Haas left a war-scarred Europe for New York. The city’s nonstop pace and vibrant palette captivated him, driving Haas to experiment and see things anew. Trained as a painter, he began to experiment with materials and methods, especially color film, abstraction and composition. His pictures were soon published as “Images of a Magic City,” Life magazine’s first full-color photo essay, a groundbreaking achievement for the 32-year-old Haas. Through his lens, skyscrapers came alive with light and movement, transforming color photography into true art. 

Two color photographs by Ernst Haas are placed side by side. Left: A photo of a New York City office building with windows reflecting another building. Right: An image abstracts light reflections and clouds with the New York City skyline. A photograph of the Chrysler Building and midtown Manhattan is juxtaposed with four long rectangles showing a golden-and-blue sky with white clouds above the Manhattan skyline.

Color is joy.

— E R N S T  H A A S

Color is joy.

— E R N S T  H A A S

Two spreads from Ernst Haas’s “Images of a Magic City” in Life magazine are placed side by side, showing glass windows reflecting another NYC building and colorful billboards.

Ernst Haas’s “Images of a Magic City” spanned two issues of Life Magazine’s
and was the publication’s first full-color photo essay. 

Ernst Haas’s “Images of a Magic City” spanned two issues of 
Life Magazine’s and was the publication’s first full-color photo essay.

From MoMA to the Marlboro Man 

Following the success of his Life portfolio, Haas continued to blaze new trails, being one of the first to use a deliberate blur in his photos of bullfights and rodeos. “Bored with obvious reality, I find my fascination in transforming it into a subjective point of view,” Haas wrote in 1961. The picture “will speak for itself,” he explained of his rule-breaking approach—“less descriptive, more creative…less prose, more poetry.” In 1962, he invited viewers to dream with “open eyes” in “The Art of Seeing,” a four-part series he wrote and hosted for NYC public television. That same year, the Museum of Modern Art held its first-ever exhibition of color photography—a ten-year retrospective of Haas’s work. 

From MoMA to the Marlboro Man 

Following the success of his Life portfolio, Haas continued to blaze new trails, being one of the first to use a deliberate blur in his photos of bullfights and rodeos. “Bored with obvious reality, I find my fascination in transforming it into a subjective point of view,” Haas wrote in 1961. The picture “will speak for itself,” he explained of his rule-breaking approach—“less descriptive, more creative…less prose, more poetry.” In 1962, he invited viewers to dream with “open eyes” in “The Art of Seeing,” a four-part series he wrote and hosted for NYC public television. That same year, the Museum of Modern Art held its first-ever exhibition of color photography—a ten-year retrospective of Haas’s work.

I want to be remembered more by a
total vision than a few single pictures.

— E R N S T  H A A S

I want to be remembered
more by a total vision than
a few single pictures.

— E R N S T  H A A S

Haas’s unique way of looking at the world influenced more than just photojournalism. Before his death in 1986, Haas captured the dynamism of ballet dancers and major motion pictures on the New York City stage as well as on the sets of West Side Story, The Misfits and The Third Man. He also worked on iconic Madison Avenue advertising campaigns, such as the first Marlboro Man cowboy. 

Haas’s unique way of looking at the world influenced more than just photojournalism. Before his death in 1986, Haas captured the dynamism of ballet dancers and major motion pictures on the New York City stage as well as on the sets of West Side Story, The Misfits and The Third Man. He also worked on iconic Madison Avenue advertising campaigns, such as the first Marlboro Man cowboy. 

Our Fall Campaign 

Inspired by his enduring legacy of innovation and creativity, we, at David Yurman, partnered with the Estate of Ernst Haas for our Fall 2019 campaign. The season’s images juxtapose our jewelry with Haas’s photographs of New York, underscoring their unconventional and interconnected artistry while reflecting the vibrant heart, soul and pulse of the city. 

Our Fall Campaign 

Inspired by his enduring legacy of innovation and creativity, we, at David Yurman, partnered with the Estate of Ernst Haas for our Fall 2019 campaign. The season’s images juxtapose our jewelry with Haas’s photographs of New York, underscoring their unconventional and interconnected artistry while reflecting the vibrant heart, soul and pulse of the city. 

Here is a free spirit, untrammeled by
tradition and theory, who has gone out and
found beauty unparalleled in photography. 

— E D W A R D  S T E I C H E N,  Photographer  

Here is a free spirit,
untrammeled by tradition
and theory, who has gone out and found beauty
unparalleled in photography. 

— E D W A R D  S T E I C H E N,  Photographer  

Now in Soho 

From August 15 through November 1, experience Haas’s
revolutionary vision of art at our Soho boutique

Now in Soho 

From August 15 through November 1,
experience Haas’s revolutionary vision
of art at our Soho boutique