跳转至主要内容

Island Records联合创始人Chris Blackwell回忆自己年轻时牙买加音乐的崛起。

Island Records联合创始人Chris Blackwell回忆自己年轻时牙买加音乐的崛起。

牙买加音乐

一座岛屿如何改变了世界

尽管牙买加仅长146英里,宽52英里,但其音乐势力一直以来都不容小觑。这个加勒比国家是世界闻名的斯卡、雷鬼、舞场雷鬼等音乐流派的诞生地。从人均水平来看,牙买加创作的音乐专辑比世界上的任何其他国家都要多。对于David Yurman来说,音乐是一个源源不断的灵感来源,因此,我们在这个充满创造力的地方拍摄我们的2018年秋季和2019年春季宣传片是再自然不过了。从黄金眼到金斯敦,牙买加是一个艺术创意的源泉,影响着新一代的歌者。

牙买加音乐

一座岛屿如何改变了世界

尽管牙买加仅长146英里,宽52英里,但其音乐势力一直以来都不容小觑。这个加勒比国家是世界闻名的斯卡、雷鬼、舞场雷鬼等音乐流派的诞生地。从人均水平来看,牙买加创作的音乐专辑比世界上的任何其他国家都要多。对于David Yurman来说,音乐是一个源源不断的灵感来源,因此,我们在这个充满创造力的地方拍摄我们的2018年秋季和2019年春季宣传片是再自然不过了。从黄金眼到金斯敦,牙买加是一个艺术创意的源泉,影响着新一代的歌者。

享受您所钟爱的生活

在音乐成为该国最大的出口产品之一前,牙买加人不得不走上街头才能听听当地的乐曲。在1950年代,美国蓝调布鲁斯音乐在牙买加大为盛行。为与电台展开竞争,DJ和MC举办户外派对,一堆扬声器播放着新奥尔良的R&B音乐——音响系统运动应运而生。最终,音响系统开始播放牙买加音乐家的歌曲。

享受您所钟爱的生活

在音乐成为该国最大的出口产品之一前,牙买加人不得不走上街头才能听听当地的乐曲。在1950年代,美国蓝调布鲁斯音乐在牙买加大为盛行。为与电台展开竞争,DJ和MC举办户外派对,一堆扬声器播放着新奥尔良的R&B音乐——音响系统运动应运而生。最终,音响系统开始播放牙买加音乐家的歌曲。

无论在哪里,您都能听到英国音乐、美国音乐和牙买加音乐。为什么会这样?这太不可思议了。牙买加就是这样幸运。

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

无论在哪里,您都能听到英国音乐、美国音乐和牙买加音乐。为什么会这样?这太不可思议了。牙买加就是这样幸运。

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

牙买加音乐家与音响系统、牙买加人在户外舞蹈、带有拿着权杖的狮子图案的埃塞俄比亚国旗、年轻的Chris Blackwell与其他人坐在一起的彩色和黑白图片拼接。

1950年代,音响系统的概念在金斯敦变得广泛普及。在市内各地,DJ和MC在卡车上装满扬声器,并举办户外派对。牙买加人对电台中播放的大同小异的美国R&B歌曲赶到厌倦,并喜欢上了这些音响系统带来的新音乐,最终,这些当地艺术家开始录制LP,包括Chris Blackwell制作的专辑。

1950年代,音响系统的概念在金斯敦变得广泛普及。在市内各地,DJ和MC在卡车上装满扬声器,并举办户外派对。牙买加人对电台中播放的大同小异的美国R&B歌曲赶到厌倦,并喜欢上了这些音响系统带来的新音乐,最终,这些当地艺术家开始录制LP,包括Chris Blackwell制作的专辑。

在20出头时,Chris Blackwell发现自己置身于飞速发展的音乐行业的中心。在担任滑水教练时,他爱上了蒙特哥湾半月酒店爵士乐队演奏的音乐。“我可能是朗姆酒喝多了吧,我对乐队说,我要为你们录制专辑,”Blackwell​​​​​​​回忆说。他开车将乐队载到金斯敦的一个录音棚,Island Records就此诞生,其得名自Alec Waugh的小说Island in the Sun,乐队主唱是一位名叫Lance Hayward的年轻盲人钢琴师。在那时,牙买加音乐专辑只为迎合游客的口味。除了对音乐的一腔热爱之外,Blackwell并无经验,他很快制作出多首单曲,并在当地一炮而红——由牙买加人为牙买加人创作的音乐。
 

1962年,牙买加从英国独立,并很快成为全球流行音乐的圣地。作为英国人的Blackwell搬到了伦敦,牙买加音乐深受伦敦当地移民人群的热爱。他驾驶着自己蓝白色的Mini Cooper在不同的城镇之间奔波,将LP销往英国西印度社区的唱片店。Blackwell的唱片还触动了英国年轻人——尤其是摩斯族。作为1960年代青年运动的一部分,摩斯族以其修身西装、迷你裙和小型摩托车为特点,并引发了一场在全世界引起共鸣的文化转变。两年之后,Blackwell旗下艺人Millie Small的斯卡歌曲“My Boy Lollipop”一举成为热门单曲,在全球范围内的销量达到600万张。

在20出头时,Chris Blackwell发现自己置身于飞速发展的音乐行业的中心。在担任滑水教练时,他爱上了蒙特哥湾半月酒店爵士乐队演奏的音乐。“我可能是朗姆酒喝多了吧,我对乐队说,我要为你们录制专辑,”Blackwell​​​​​​​回忆说。他开车将乐队载到金斯敦的一个录音棚,Island Records就此诞生,其得名自Alec Waugh的小说Island in the Sun,乐队主唱是一位名叫Lance Hayward的年轻盲人钢琴师。在那时,牙买加音乐专辑只为迎合游客的口味。除了对音乐的一腔热爱之外,Blackwell并无经验,他很快制作出多首单曲,并在当地一炮而红——由牙买加人为牙买加人创作的音乐。


1962年,牙买加从英国独立,并很快成为全球流行音乐的圣地。作为英国人的Blackwell搬到了伦敦,牙买加音乐深受伦敦当地移民人群的热爱。他驾驶着自己蓝白色的Mini Cooper在不同的城镇之间奔波,将LP销往英国西印度社区的唱片店。Blackwell的唱片还触动了英国年轻人——尤其是摩斯族。作为1960年代青年运动的一部分,摩斯族以其修身西装、迷你裙和小型摩托车为特点,并引发了一场在全世界引起共鸣的文化转变。两年之后,Blackwell旗下艺人Millie Small的斯卡歌曲“My Boy Lollipop”一举成为热门单曲,在全球范围内的销量达到600万张。

Island Records LP、宣布牙买加独立的报纸头条以及The Skatalites的彩色和黑白照片。

从左上起顺时针:Chris Blackwell制作的爵士钢琴师Lance Hayward的LP;牙买加在1962年宣告独立;将Hayward姓氏拼写错误的稀有音乐专辑;Blackwell帮助斯卡音乐的早期先锋The Skatalites​​​​​​​走向世界。

从左上起顺时针:Chris Blackwell制作的爵士钢琴师Lance Hayward的LP;牙买加在1962年宣告独立;将Hayward姓氏拼写错误的稀有音乐专辑;Blackwell帮助斯卡音乐的早期先锋The Skatalites​​​​​​​走向世界。

起立,站起

牙买加斯卡音乐欢快且充满舞蹈动感,势头渐渐不及休闲的慢拍摇滚乐乃至后来的雷鬼乐,雷鬼乐与当地的拉斯特法里社区之间关系紧密。拉斯特法里派成员是以非洲为中心的政治和宗教团体,原本在岛上备受畏惧与歧视。然而,Bob Marley塔法里教风格的歌曲转变了社会对这种反文化运动的看法,并让这位The Wailers原主唱成为了明星。而正是Blackwell促成了Marley的迅速走红。(当Blackwell在2001年入主摇滚名人堂时,他被称作“让全世界爱上雷鬼乐的第一人。”)

起立,站起

牙买加斯卡音乐欢快且充满舞蹈动感,势头渐渐不及休闲的慢拍摇滚乐乃至后来的雷鬼乐,雷鬼乐与当地的拉斯特法里社区之间关系紧密。拉斯特法里派成员是以非洲为中心的政治和宗教团体,原本在岛上备受畏惧与歧视。然而,Bob Marley塔法里教风格的歌曲转变了社会对这种反文化运动的看法,并让这位The Wailers原主唱成为了明星。而正是Blackwell促成了Marley的迅速走红。(当Blackwell在2001年入主摇滚名人堂时,他被称作“让全世界爱上雷鬼乐的第一人。”)

这座小小的岛屿居然创作出和如此多的音乐,简直令人惊奇。

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

这座小小的岛屿居然创作出和如此多的音乐,简直令人惊奇。

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

Bob Marley之后,牙买加又涌现出一批富有影响力的艺术家,包括Grace Jones、The Cranberries、Melissa Etheridge、Tom Waits、U2和Amy Winehouse。由于Blackwell博采众长的品味以及发掘人才的独到眼光,这家独立唱片公司很快发展为一家全球唱片公司,最终于1989年被PolyGram收购。

Bob Marley之后,牙买加又涌现出一批富有影响力的艺术家,包括Grace Jones、The Cranberries、Melissa Etheridge、Tom Waits、U2和Amy Winehouse。由于Blackwell博采众长的品味以及发掘人才的独到眼光,这家独立唱片公司很快发展为一家全球唱片公司,最终于1989年被PolyGram收购。

爱的魔咒

由于David Yurman 2019年春季广告宣传片展现了牙买加美丽的热带风光,我们自然而然选了一首承袭其创意传统的歌曲。“爱的魔咒”在我们的广告宣传中首次发布,并展示了多产的牙买加艺术家Mykal Rose、Sly & Robbie和Ernest Ranglin。

爱的魔咒

由于David Yurman 2019年春季广告宣传片展现了牙买加美丽的热带风光,我们自然而然选了一首承袭其创意传统的歌曲。“爱的魔咒”在我们的广告宣传中首次发布,并展示了多产的牙买加艺术家Mykal Rose、Sly & Robbie和Ernest Ranglin。

这首出自《Red, Gold, Green and Blues》专辑的歌曲由Youth制作,在美式布鲁斯音乐中融入了雷鬼乐元素,Youth是一位英国贝斯手,曾与U2、Paul McCartney 和The Verve合作。其于2019年4月发布,同时庆祝了BMG、澳大利亚音乐艺人Sharna "Sshh" Liguz和The Who鼓手以及Beatle Ringo Starr之子Zak Starkey旗下新唱片公司Trojan Jamaica的成立。
 

“我们的目标是将各种牙买加新音乐介绍给大众,”Liguz表示。“我发现雷鬼乐和美式布鲁斯有着异曲同工之妙,”Starkey解释说。“牙买加音乐十分‘欢快’,蕴含着严肃的内涵,”他继续说道。“美式布鲁斯在内涵上非常类似,但音乐更加‘内敛’。” 但两者同样过瘾。”

这首出自《Red, Gold, Green and Blues》专辑的歌曲由Youth制作,在美式布鲁斯音乐中融入了雷鬼乐元素,Youth是一位英国贝斯手,曾与U2、Paul McCartney 和The Verve合作。其于2019年4月发布,同时庆祝了BMG、澳大利亚音乐艺人Sharna "Sshh" Liguz和The Who鼓手以及Beatle Ringo Starr之子Zak Starkey旗下新唱片公司Trojan Jamaica的成立。


“我们的目标是将各种牙买加新音乐介绍给大众,”Liguz表示。“我发现雷鬼乐和美式布鲁斯有着异曲同工之妙,”Starkey解释说。“牙买加音乐十分‘欢快’,蕴含着严肃的内涵,”他继续说道。“美式布鲁斯在内涵上非常类似,但音乐更加‘内敛’。” 但两者同样过瘾。”

Skip to main content

Chris Blackwell, cofounder of Island Records, recalls the rise of the Jamaican music scene during his youth.

Chris Blackwell, cofounder of Island Records, recalls the rise of the Jamaican music scene during his youth.

The Music of Jamaica

How one island changed the world.

Although it’s a mere 146 miles long and 52 miles wide, Jamaica has long been a powerful force in music. The Caribbean nation is the birthplace of a host of world-renowned genres—ska, reggae, dancehall to name a few. Per capita, Jamaica creates more recorded music than any other nation on the planet. For David Yurman, music is a constant source of inspiration, so it was only natural to shoot our Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 campaign in a place that celebrates the power of creativity. From Goldeneye to Kingston, Jamaica is a wellspring of artistic originality, influencing a new generation of voices.

The Music of Jamaica

How one island changed the world.

Although it’s a mere 146 miles long and 52 miles wide, Jamaica has long been a powerful force in music. The Caribbean nation is the birthplace of a host of world-renowned genres—ska, reggae, dancehall to name a few. Per capita, Jamaica creates more recorded music than any other nation on the planet. For David Yurman, music is a constant source of inspiration, so it was only natural to shoot our Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 campaign in a place that celebrates the power of creativity. From Goldeneye to Kingston, Jamaica is a wellspring of artistic originality, influencing a new generation of voices.

Live the Life You Love

Before music became one of the nation’s greatest exports, Jamaicans had to take to the streets to hear local rhythms. In the 1950s, American rhythm and blues records ruled Jamaican air waves. To compete with the radio stations, DJs and MCs threw outdoor parties, blasting New Orleans R&B from stacks of speakers—and the sound system movement was born. Eventually, sound systems began to play songs by Jamaican musicians.

Live the Life You Love

Before music became one of the nation’s greatest exports, Jamaicans had to take to the streets to hear local rhythms. In the 1950s, American rhythm and blues records ruled Jamaican air waves. To compete with the radio stations, DJs and MCs threw outdoor parties, blasting New Orleans R&B from stacks of speakers—and the sound system movement was born. Eventually, sound systems began to play songs by Jamaican musicians.

Everywhere you go, you hear English music, American music and Jamaican music. How come? It's unbelievable. Jamaica is just blessed like that.

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

Everywhere you go, you hear English music, American music and Jamaican music. How come? It's unbelievable. Jamaica is just blessed like that.

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

A collage of color and black-and-white photos of Jamaican musicians with sound systems, Jamaicans dancing outdoors, a painting of an Ethiopian flag with a lion holding a scepter, a young Chris Blackwell seated with other people.

During the 1950s, the sound system concept became wildly popular in Kingston. All throughout the city, DJs and MCs loaded up trucks with stacks of speakers and threw outdoor parties. Tired of the same American R&B songs broadcast on the radio, Jamaicans loved the new music created by these sound systems and eventually these local artists began recording LPs including albums produced by Chris Blackwell.

During the 1950s, the sound system concept became wildly popular in Kingston. All throughout the city, DJs and MCs loaded up trucks with stacks of speakers and threw outdoor parties. Tired of the same American R&B songs broadcast on the radio, Jamaicans loved the new music created by these sound systems and eventually these local artists began recording LPs including albums produced by Chris Blackwell.

In his early twenties, Chris Blackwell found himself at the center of this exploding music scene. While working as a waterskiing instructor, he fell in love with the music of a jazz ensemble playing at the Half Moon Hotel in Montego Bay. “I probably had a couple too many rums and said to the band, I’d love to record you,” Blackwell remembers. He drove the band, fronted by a young blind pianist named Lance Hayward, to a sound studio in Kingston, and Island Records was born—named after Alec Waugh’s novel, Island in the Sun. At the time, Jamaican records catered only to tourists. With no experience beyond a love of music, Blackwell soon produced a number of singles that became local hits—created by Jamaicans for Jamaicans.
 

In 1962, Jamaica gained its independence from England and soon the nation became a powerhouse for popular music around the world. Blackwell, a British citizen, moved to London where Island’s music was embraced by the immigrant population. He delivered LPs to record shops in the West Indian communities of the U.K., driving from town to town in his blue-and-white Mini Cooper. Blackwell’s releases also began to strike a chord with young Brits—the Mods, in particular. Part of the Youthquake movement of the 1960s, the Mods—known by their slim suits, miniskirts and motor scooters—sparked a cultural shift that resonated around the world. Two years later, “My Boy Lollipop,” a ska tune by Millie Small—one of Blackwell’s artists—became a smash hit, selling 6 million copies around the world.

In his early twenties, Chris Blackwell found himself at the center of this exploding music scene. While working as a waterskiing instructor, he fell in love with the music of a jazz ensemble playing at the Half Moon Hotel in Montego Bay. “I probably had a couple too many rums and said to the band, I’d love to record you,” Blackwell remembers. He drove the band, fronted by a young blind pianist named Lance Hayward, to a sound studio in Kingston, and Island Records was born—named after Alec Waugh’s novel, Island in the Sun. At the time, Jamaican records catered only to tourists. With no experience beyond a love of music, Blackwell soon produced a number of singles that became local hits—created by Jamaicans for Jamaicans.


In 1962, Jamaica gained its independence from England and soon the nation became a powerhouse for popular music around the world. Blackwell, a British citizen, moved to London where Island’s music was embraced by the immigrant population. He delivered LPs to record shops in the West Indian communities of the U.K., driving from town to town in his blue-and-white Mini Cooper. Blackwell’s releases also began to strike a chord with young Brits—the Mods, in particular. Part of the Youthquake movement of the 1960s, the Mods—known by their slim suits, miniskirts and motor scooters—sparked a cultural shift that resonated around the world. Two years later, “My Boy Lollipop,” a ska tune by Millie Small—one of Blackwell’s artists—became a smash hit, selling 6 million copies around the world.

A collage of color and black-and-white photos of LPs from Island Records, the front page of a newspaper declaring Jamaica’s independence and the Skatalites.

C L O C K W I S E   F R O M   T O P   L E F T :  An LP by jazz pianist Lance Hayward that was produced by Chris Blackwell; Jamaica became an independent nation in 1962; a rare edition of Hayward’s album with an incorrect spelling of his last name; Blackwell helped introduce the Skatalites, early pioneers of ska, to the world.

C L O C K W I S E   F R O M   T O P   L E F T :  An LP by jazz pianist Lance Hayward that was produced by Chris Blackwell; Jamaica became an independent nation in 1962; a rare edition of Hayward’s album with an incorrect spelling of his last name; Blackwell helped introduce the Skatalites, early pioneers of ska, to the world.

Get Up, Stand Up

Upbeat and danceable, Jamaican ska music gave way to laidback rocksteady and then reggae, which was intimately linked to the local Rastafari community. Rastafarians, members of an Africa-centered political and religious group, were originally feared and discriminated against on the island. However, Bob Marley’s Rasta-inspired songs changed society’s perception of this countercultural movement and propelled the former frontman of The Wailers to stardom. Behind Marley’s meteoric rise was Blackwell. (When Blackwell was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2001, he was described as “the single person most responsible for turning the world onto reggae music.”)

Get Up, Stand Up

Upbeat and danceable, Jamaican ska music gave way to laidback rocksteady and then reggae, which was intimately linked to the local Rastafari community. Rastafarians, members of an Africa-centered political and religious group, were originally feared and discriminated against on the island. However, Bob Marley’s Rasta-inspired songs changed society’s perception of this countercultural movement and propelled the former frontman of The Wailers to stardom. Behind Marley’s meteoric rise was Blackwell. (When Blackwell was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2001, he was described as “the single person most responsible for turning the world onto reggae music.”)

It’s extraordinary that there’s this much music coming out of one little island.

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

It’s extraordinary that there’s this much music coming out of one little island.

— C H R I S   B L A C K W E L L

After Bob Marley, Island went on to sign a diverse list of influential artists, including Grace Jones, The Cranberries, Melissa Etheridge, Tom Waits, U2 and Amy Winehouse. Thanks to Blackwell’s eclectic taste and keen eye for talent, the independent record label soon transformed into global powerhouse and was eventually bought by PolyGram in 1989.

After Bob Marley, Island went on to sign a diverse list of influential artists, including Grace Jones, The Cranberries, Melissa Etheridge, Tom Waits, U2 and Amy Winehouse. Thanks to Blackwell’s eclectic taste and keen eye for talent, the independent record label soon transformed into global powerhouse and was eventually bought by PolyGram in 1989.

I Put a Spell On You

Since the David Yurman Spring 2019 campaign captures Jamaica’s tropical beauty, it was only natural for us to feature a song that celebrates its creative heritage. “I Put a Spell on You” made its debut in our campaign and showcases prolific Jamaican artists Mykal Rose, Sly & Robbie and Ernest Ranglin.

I Put a Spell On You

Since the David Yurman Spring 2019 campaign captures Jamaica’s tropical beauty, it was only natural for us to feature a song that celebrates its creative heritage. “I Put a Spell on You” made its debut in our campaign and showcases prolific Jamaican artists Mykal Rose, Sly & Robbie and Ernest Ranglin.

Produced by Youth—a British bassist who has collaborated with U2, Paul McCartney and the Verve—the track from the ‘Red, Gold, Green and Blues’ album puts a reggae spin on American blues. Its release in April 2019 also celebrated the launch of Trojan Jamaica, a new record label from BMG, Australian musician Sharna “Sshh” Liguz and Zak Starkey, a drummer for The Who and the son of Beatle Ringo Starr.
 

“It’s our aim to bring a range of new Jamaican music to the masses,” says Liguz. “I find both reggae music and American blues to be similar with a different approach,” explains Starkey. “Jamaican music is ‘up’ music with a serious message,” he continues. “US blues has a very similar message in the words, yet the music can be harder or more ‘down.’ But both rock just as hard.”

Produced by Youth—a British bassist who has collaborated with U2, Paul McCartney and the Verve—the track from the ‘Red, Gold, Green and Blues’ album puts a reggae spin on American blues. Its release in April 2019 also celebrated the launch of Trojan Jamaica, a new record label from BMG, Australian musician Sharna “Sshh” Liguz and Zak Starkey, a drummer for The Who and the son of Beatle Ringo Starr.


“It’s our aim to bring a range of new Jamaican music to the masses,” says Liguz. “I find both reggae music and American blues to be similar with a different approach,” explains Starkey. “Jamaican music is ‘up’ music with a serious message,” he continues. “US blues has a very similar message in the words, yet the music can be harder or more ‘down.’ But both rock just as hard.”